It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"The product of a retail corporation, this commercial website includes advertisements. Helpful summaries aid navigation by detailing the information available on individual pages or tabs. ."-- Choice Reviews Online, Kristy Steigerwalt, doi: 10.5860/CHOICE.52.10.1601
CHOICE June 2015 vol. 52 no. 10
DailyMed provides standard, comprehensive, and up-to-date information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts). This website from the National Library of Medicine is made freely available for health information providers and the public.
"The Drugs.com Drug Information Database is powered by four independent leading medical-information suppliers: Wolters Kluwer Health, American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Cerner Multum and Micromedex from Truven Health. Individual drug (or drug-class) content compiled by these sources is delivered complete and unaltered by Drugs.com."--website
"Recommended as a well-organized, basic drug information resource of moderate scope. Its various entry points, including linkable lists, are useful for health care professionals, faculty, students, and consumers who have some experience searching; novice searchers may have difficulty navigating the site."-- Choice Reviews Online, Kristy Steigerwalt, doi: 10.5860/CHOICE.52.10.1601
"The site’s supported material and the vendors from which it draws are impressive and reputable. Drugs.com employs an editorial staff of registered pharmacists; information is compiled by pharmacists, physicians, and medical journalists... The presence of advertisements within most pages impedes navigation, and could lead to bias in information presentation and interpretation... Enhanced search apps are available for a fee. Notably, the site provides information on veterinary medications, offering over five thousand monographs for both medications and diagnostics, organized by species and treatment type. Drugs.com is comprehensive, reliable, and current, with authoritative sources that primarily are vetted by professional practitioners. Evaluation: Recommended for health care professionals, students, and faculty, and for health care consumers, as one of the most comprehensive free drug information resources."--Choice Reviews Online, Kristy Steigerwalt, doi: 10.5860/CHOICE.52.10.1601
CHOICE June 2015 vol. 52 no. 10
"Recommended for health care students, faculty, and professionals who seek fast, current, point-of-care access to information on prescribed and over-the-counter drugs, alternative medicine, and disease state management, including issues related to insurance and drug pricing information."-- Choice Reviews Online, Kristy Steigerwalt, doi: 10.5860/CHOICE.52.10.1601
"The DPD contains product specific information on drugs approved for use in Canada. The database is managed by Health Canada and includes human pharmaceutical and biological drugs, veterinary drugs, radiopharmaceutical drugs and disinfectant products. It contains approximately 47,000 products that are currently approved, marketed or cancelled."--website
"Recommended as a good starting point for health care students, faculty, professionals, researchers, or consumers, especially those looking for patient education materials in Spanish, and for authoritative information on alternative medications."-- Choice Reviews Online, Kristy Steigerwalt, doi: 10.5860/CHOICE.52.10.1601
" Recommended for consumers (including undergraduate students) requiring basic, high-quality drug information on topics such as medication use and adverse effects."-- Choice Reviews Online, Kristy Steigerwalt, doi: 10.5860/CHOICE.52.10.1601
" Recommended for clinical health care practitioners and for medical, nursing, pharmacy, and health care students interested in focused drug information; clinicians will need to look elsewhere, e.g., the Drug Information Portal, for supporting primary evidence."-- Choice Reviews Online, Kristy Steigerwalt, doi: 10.5860/CHOICE.52.10.1601
"Developed by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), this resource (http://www.safemedication.com/) focuses on providing reliable patient education information for more than twelve thousand drug products. The site is supported by information drawn from the American Hospital Formulary Service: Drug Information, package inserts, and FDA-approved prescribing information. ASHP also includes the consumer drug information available from the National Library of Medicine. Specific editor and author credentials are unclear, though ASHP is a reputable publisher... Recommended for consumers and undergraduate students seeking concise, reliable drug information."-- Choice Reviews Online, Kristy Steigerwalt, doi: 10.5860/CHOICE.52.10.1601
Recommended for laypersons and undergraduate students with the caveat that sites such as Mayo Clinic Drugs and Supplements or MedlinePlus may provide similar information with less potential bias."-- Choice Reviews Online, Kristy Steigerwalt, doi: 10.5860/CHOICE.52.10.1601