SBU Libraries: History & Political Science: Selected Websites

Web Resources

This Day in History—Type in your date for events divided into more than a dozen topics with brief articles from this History Channel web site.

Today in History –Search a particular date in the History Archive of the Library of Congress American Memory web site.

Anyday Page –Find out births and deaths, religious holidays, historical events, religious history, and soldiers missing in action on your selected date.

Timelines of History –Choose a date for a detailed list of historical events.

On-This-Day.com – Famous birthdays, miscellaneous history, and music history are listed here.

Infoplease Daily Almanac – Use the “Today’s Birthdays” or “This Day in History” features to research a date.

Brainy History – Search for events in history as well as notable birthdays and deaths.

Websites

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library. "American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections."
http://memory.loc.gov/

Best of History Web Sites
http://besthistorysites.net/

HyperHistory Online
http://www.hyperhistory.com/online_n2/History_n2/a.html

Internet History Sourcebooks Project
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/

Student's Guide to the Study of History
http://www.historyguide.org/guide/guide.html

World History Center at Northeastern University
http://www.h-net.msu.edu/~envision/interact/history.html

Timelines: Sources from History

http://www.bl.uk/learning/histcitizen/timeline/historytimeline.html

Compilation of Presidential Documents

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CPD

Interactive Map of the London Blitz, WWII

http://bombsight.org/#15/51.5050/-0.0900

The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History

http://digital.libraries.ou.edu/whc/duke/

The Archaeology Channel

http://archaeologychannel.org/

more web sites

Trans-Mississippi Theater Virtual Museum
Documents military and civilian activities 1854-1865, from the digitized collection of Wilson's Creek National Battlefield
Community & Conflict: the impact of the Civil War in the Ozarks
Cultural Institute
To preserve and promote culture online. Find photographs, museum exhibits, letters and more. From 1905-2008 (as of October 2012)
Geospatial Historian
“The Geospatial Historian is a tutorial-based open access textbook, modeled on the Programming Historian, for historical scholars and digital humanists. It is designed to teach practical digital mapping and GIS skills that are immediately useful to real research needs.”
Directions Magazine
First World War Centenary
an online resource that opens up hidden stories of the First World War and shows the tragedy that shaped Europe from different sides of the conflict
Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Study Digital Archive
The collections consists of surplus copies of the U.S. War Relocation Authority agency documents, including publications, staff papers, reports, correspondences, press releases, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks and a few photographs. Included is the Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Study, University of California, Berkeley, 1942-1946, containing evacuee diaries and letters and staff correspondence, reports and studies.
Germany's Federal Archives - World War I
Hundreds of thousands of rare records and images from World War I have been put online by the German government.
National Park Service History
The NPS Electronic Library is a portal to thousands of electronic publications and videos, covering the history of the National Park Service and the cultural and natural history of the national parks, monuments, and historic sites of the U.S. National Park System.

While not affiliated with the National Park Service, our aim is to build on the legacy of the old NPS History e-Library. New content is added on the first of each month. The information contained in this Website is historic in scope and is not meant as an aid for travel planning; please refer to the official National Park Service Website for current information.

CLIO Notes

CLIO Notes are brief overviews of historical events. Click on the link below, then at the top of the screen click the button "CLIO Notes". This will bring up an index to the topics