University Archives

SWBC Class of 1900

Front of scrapbook, dated 1970

University Archives Collection Outline

University Archives is located in the Harriett K. Hutchens Library in the Jester Learning & Performance Center, on the main campus of SBU in Bolivar, Missouri.

The University Archives currently collects in five areas.

1.    University Archives (RG)

These are the official documents of the University, including,

• Omnibus – student newspapers (and earlier titles)
• Mozarkian – yearbooks since 1916, first known edition,
• other university publications
• SWBC & SBU Catalogs – since 1878
• official university records
• President’s papers
• Photographs
• Audio and Video recordings

2.    Publications - accessed via the library catalog

The archives collects books in the following areas.

• Missouri Baptist Convention Annual Reports
• Southern Baptist Convention Annual Reports
• Books written by, for or about SBU
• Books written by or about faculty, staff or alumni
• Books about Polk County Baptist and Missouri Baptist history
• Word & Way (Missouri state Baptist newspaper)

Some of the books in the collection are rare or antique, donated as part of a collection and pulled away from the whole at some point in the past. SBU is not the Southern Baptist Archives and does not try to collect items that should be there.

 3.    Manuscript Collection (M)

Items in this collection have been donated to the University as a group, and have some relevance to SBU or its history, but may be somewhat eclectic. May include personal books and papers as well as scrapbooks or artifacts

 4.    Heritage Center (HC)

The Joyce Sells Heritage Center Collection is technically a subset of the Manuscript collection, but because of its history as a separate entity it is continuing as its own division. It contains papers and books, as well as artifacts. The collection continues to grow as more items are donated. A box list keeps track of items donated and donors.

 5.   Vertical Files

 The Vertical Files contain information about the University or people associated with SBU. May contain newspaper clippings, brief biographical information, original papers, etc.

In addition to these five areas, the University Libraries also have some Special Collections  - items in several categories that are kept separate from regular library holdings

• R. Earl Allen Model Pastor’s Library - includes a collection of theological and sermonic books, plus other related materials.
• Antique/Rare Books Collection - consists of books that are restricted to library use only due to their nature and condition.
• Christian Education Resource Lab - provided by the Mid-Lakes Baptist Association provides resource collection of current church education literature, Bible study materials, periodicals and monographs, published by Southern Baptist related entities.
• Faith Enrichment Collection – collection of materials to assist in the spiritual development of students and staff.
• Butler Baptist History – a microfilm collection of older works on Baptist History

Updated 10/24/2011