Databases with Chemistry and Physics Content
- Gale in Context: Science - ChemistrySBU Subscription database. Requires SBU proxy authentication. Use your SBU username/password
- Academic Search PremierA general database that contains information across a broad spectrum of academic disciplines.
- Annenberg LearnerThese multimedia resources help teachers increase their expertise in their fields and assist them in improving their teaching methods. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home. All Annenberg Learner videos exemplify excellent teaching.
- Britannica Online: Academic EditionThis reference database combines the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools to provide users with a variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research.
- EBSCO eBook CollectionThis collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter and is a strong complement to any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
- Films on DemandThis video database allows streaming of educational videos directly online. Films on Demand is also fully searchable through University Libraries’ catalog.
- JSTORThis is a growing interdisciplinary digital library of 12 million+ academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines for scholars, researchers, and students.
- ScienceDirectThis full-text scientific database offers journal articles and book chapters from 2,200+ active journals and 26,000+ books. Limit search results to content available through the University Libraries by selecting the Subscribed publications and Open Access articles check boxes.
- Science Reference CenterThis database provides access to 640+ science encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, and technology and wildlife.
- TDS HealthThis platform is a multifaceted nursing reference center that provides access to AAFP Conditions A-Z, BoardVitals NCLEX RN practices, Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, Taber's® Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, Evidence Based Alerts, and Medical Alerts.
Other Databases with Chemistry Content
- AIST-RIO-DB Spectral Databases for Organic Compounds SDBSVisitors to this database are not to download more than 50 spectra and/or compound information in one day.
- Binding DatabaseFrom the website: "BindingDB is a public, web-accessible database of measured binding affinities, focusing chiefly on the interactions of protein considered to be drug-targets with small, drug-like molecules."
- BRENDA - The Comprehensive Enzyme Information SystemA website curated by the Technische Universität Braunschweig
- CAMEO ChemicalsNOAA
- CCCBDB (Computational Chemistry Comparison and Benchmark DataBase)NIST Computational Chemistry Comparison and Benchmark Database
NIST Standard Reference Database Number 101
Release 21, August 2020, Editor: Russell D. Johnson III
http://cccbdb.nist.gov/
DOI:10.18434/T47C7Z - ChEBI (Chemical Entities of Biological Interest)"Chemical Entities of Biological Interest (ChEBI) is a freely available dictionary of molecular entities focused on ‘small’ chemical compounds." -- website
- ChEMBLEMBL-EBI, Wellcome Genome Campus. ChEMBL is a manually curated database of bioactive molecules with drug-like properties.
- ChemDB Chemoinformatics PortalUniversity of California, Irvine
- Chemical Effects in Biological SystemsChemical Effects in Biological Systems (CEBS). Research Triangle Park, NC (USA): National Toxicology Program (NTP). https://doi.org/10.22427/NTP-DATA-1
- Chemical Structure Lookup ServiceNIH National Cancer Institute
- ChemSpiderChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
- ChemSpider SyntheticPagesChemSpider SyntheticPages is a freely available interactive database of synthetic chemistry. Coverage includes organic, organometallic and inorganic chemical synthesis, reactions and procedures deposited by synthetic chemists.
- ChemSynthesisFrom the website: "ChemSynthesis is a freely accessible database of chemicals. This website contains substances with their synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density.
- Common Chemistry
Common Chemistry™ from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. - CompTox Chemicals DashboardEPA. The Dashboard is a one-stop-shop for chemistry, toxicity and exposure information for over 875,000 chemicals. Data and models within the Dashboard also help with efforts to identify chemicals of most need of further testing and reducing the use of animals in chemical testing.
- Crystallography Open DatabaseThe Vilnius development group was financed (2010 – 2011) by the Research Council of Lithuania
- MatWeb (Material Property Data)Commercial website that provides data sheets for 76,000+ metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites.
- NIST Chemical Kinetics DatabaseA compilation of kinetics data on gas-phase reactions from the National Institute of Standards and Technology
- nmrshiftdb2From the website: "nmrshiftdb2 is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra.
- OpenAlex"OpenAlex is a fully open catalog of the global research system. It's named after the ancient Library of Alexandria" -- docs.openalex.org
- Organic Compounds DatabaseThis 2483 compound database has been compiled by Harold M. Bell at Virginia Tech.
- OSHA Occupational Chemical DatabaseOccupational Safety and Health Administration
- PIR (Protein Information Resource)"The Protein Information Resource (PIR) is an integrated public bioinformatics resource to support genomic, proteomic and systems biology research and scientific studies " -- website
- RCSB Protein DatabankA resource for studying biological macromolecules
- re3data.org"re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data. The registry went live in autumn 2012 and is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG)."--website
- UniChemEMBL-EBI, Wellcome Genome Campus. UniChem efficiently produces cross-references between chemical structure identifiers from different databases
