Biology - Botany: Home

By John D. Curtis Ph.D., Biology Department, University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point ; Nels R. Lersten Ph.D., Department of Botany, Iowa State University ; Michael D. Nowak, Biology Department, University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point

James D. Mauseth, Integrative Biology, Univ.of Texas

From the website: "Plant Ontology is a controlled vocabulary (ontology) that describes plant anatomy and morphology and stages of development for all plants."

Abstracts for articles in Plant Physiology, v. 1 to current.

From the website: "a collection of 333,490 photos of plants, animals, fossils, people, and landscapes from around the world."

From the webpage: " The Dendrology homepage at Virginia Tech is where to find tree identification fact sheets on approximately 900 species of trees, as well as lots of other tree information."

Highly recommended by Choice Reviews online

"Edward Stuhl was born in 1887 in Budapest, Hungary. As a young man, he spent his time hiking and climbing in the Austrian Alps. He worked as an apprentice in his father's stained glass studio and studied at the Graz Academy of Art and the Munich Academy of Art. His formal art education, blended with his love of nature, is evident in Stuhl's sensitive and accurate wildflower paintings. Stuhl's artistic talent wonderfully preserves the beauty of the wildflowers of Mount Shasta and other regions of California. A prolific painter, Stuhl created a legacy of more than 400 exquisite watercolor paintings."-- Meriam Library Special Collections Department website

This Univ. of Texas resource was created to assemble and disseminate information that encourages the sustainable use and conservation of native wildflowers, plants and landscapes throughout North America.

A Finnish site, translated into English

Recommended by Choice Reviews Online

From the website: "Use Plant Information Online to discover sources in 1074 North American nurseries for 104779 plants, find 357757 citations to 161488 plants in science and garden literature, link to selected websites for images and regional information about 19131 plants, and access information on 2631 North American seed and nursery firms. Plant Information Online is a free service of the University of Minnesota Libraries."

From the website: "The Plant List is a working list of all known plant species. ... Collaboration between the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew and Missouri Botanical Garden enabled the creation of The Plant List by combining multiple checklist data sets held by these institutions and other collaborators."

A Missouri Botanical Garden resource

These pages are maintained by the Animal Science Department at Cornell University"

The Tree of Life Web Project is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts. The project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.

From a Missouri Botanical Garden website "Tropicos, the world’s largest botanical database, contains more than a million published names, information on more than 354,963 type specimens (the specimen used to establish the name for a plant species), more than 1.5 million distribution records, nearly 645,000 synonyms, over 3.9 million specimen records and more than 157,000 plant images."

An United States Geological Service resource

By Shawn Krosnick and Kevin E. Indoe, New York Botanical Garden

A California Department of Fish and Game resource, this site contains information on special vascular plants, bryophytes and lichens.

United States Department of Agriculture, Forest Service

Univ. of California, Berkeley

Contains photographs and descriptions of the flowering and non-flowering plants of Missouri. Includes helpful links to other web resources

A Mo. Dept. of Conservation resource

From the website: "The Plant List is a working list of all known plant species. ... Collaboration between the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew and Missouri Botanical Garden enabled the creation of The Plant List by combining multiple checklist data sets held by these institutions and other collaborators."

Missouri Dept. of Conservation

Missouri Dept. of Conservation