It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database provides indexing and abstracts for 2,850+ academic periodicals; full text for 1,800+ journals, 550 books, and education-related conference papers; and citations for over 4 million articles, including book reviews. Its coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, as well as educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
A comprehensive sociology research database that has more than 2.1 million resources and a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. It also contains full text for 860+ journals dating back to 1908, 830+ ebooks, and 16,800+ conference papers.
A definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains 153,000+ articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other leading psychology publishers and organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
A comprehensive source for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 of the most popular, up-to-date journals indexed.
Finding Journals & Magazines by Title
Not sure if University Libraries own a particular journal or magazine that is relevant to your field of research? Use A-Z Journal Tracker to see if we currently provide access to that journal or magazine title.
This reference database combines the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools to provide users with a variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research.
This collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter and is a strong complement to any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
This digital archive provides cover-to-cover full-text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. It also contains selective full-text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are also available.
Conducting Your Search
The first thing to remember is that conducting good research is difficult!
As you think about your topic, develop a list of search terms
Decide where the information might be found:
Is it a topic that has been under discussion for a few years? Look for a book
Would there be smaller research projects on the topic, or are you trying to find a case-study? Look in the databases for articles
Are you not sure what angle your research should take? Search the internet - select advanced search and limit to .gov or .edu sites
When searching the databases:
You will not get the same results using an integrated search as you will searching each database individually. The individual searches will give you more.
Use the thesaurus to find related terms and to search by subject
Different databases have different interfaces (the look and feel) but similar functionality - you might just have to hunt a bit to find the option you need
Use the "Descriptors" to find related subject headings to use in future searches