First Aid
- Farm Safety Includes a First-aid KitNorth Dakota State University Extension and Ag Research News, News Release 6/11/2012
- First Aid Kits for Production Agriculture
First aid kits for production agriculture. (2013). Farm and Ranch eXtension in Safety and Health (FReSH) Community of Practice.
Farm Emergency Plan Templates
- Emergency Farm Plan Electronic TemplateThis electronic template will assist you in writing an emergency farm plan.
- (Template) Emergency Plan for _____________ Farmwww.cvrd.ca, Template Version: March 30, 2017
Farm Safety Handbook by Call Number: SBU BOL Book 630.289 K9513ISBN: 9780760323854Publication Date: 2006-07-01
- NASD (National Ag Safety Database)Likely the best compilation of agricultural safety resources to be found.
- Missouri Agricultural Fatalities & Injuries 2012-2020Data provided by: Central States Center for Agricultural Safety and Health – NIOSH Funded Agricultural Center
- Agricultural OperationsOSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration)
- AGRICULTURAL SAFETYThe National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
- Ag Workplace Safety ResourcesAgricultural Safety and Health Program, Ohio State University Extension
- Emergency Preparedness Through a Farm Walk ThroughOhio Dairy Industry Resources Center, Ohio State University Extension, Jason Hartschuh, BUCKEYE DAIRY NEWS,/ VOLUME 23: ISSUE 6
- Farm Safety Survey (FSS)CDC ; The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
- Free farm safety podcasts availableUniversity of Missouri Extension, 9/24/2021
- How to Respond to Farm AccidentsIowa State University, University Extension, Charles V. Schwab, Laura Miller
- Materials for Teaching Agricultural Safety in the College ClassroomNASD (National Ag Safety Database), authors: Carol Lehtola, Ph.D. and Charles M. Brown
- Noise: The Invisible HazardUniversity of Missouri Extension, by David E. Baker
- On-Farm Hazards and Accident Prevention (FSA1061)University of Arkansas, Division of Agriculture, Research & Extension, by Sammy Sadaka
- Responding to farm accidentsUniversity of Missouri Extension, David E. Baker and Rusty Lee
- A Review of Farm Accident Data Sources and Research: Review of Recently Published and Current ResearchNASD (National Ag Safety Database) - This document was extracted from Bibliographies and Literature of Agriculture, No. 125. Publication date: October 1993, author, Jack L. Runyan
- Show-Me Farm Safetyfarmsafety.mo.gov
- Show-Me Farm Safety Additional ResourcesFarmsafetymo.gov
"COLUMBIA, Mo. – Agriculture-related incidents injure 33 children every day, and every three days a child dies from one, says University of Missouri Extension safety and health specialist Karen Funkenbusch." -- Morning AgClips: Teach Children Farm Safety, published 5/20/2020
- Creating Safe Play Areas on FarmsNASD (National Ag Safety Database), National Children's Center for Rural and Agricultural Health and Safety, The Marshfield Medical Research & Education Foundation
- Farm Safety For Just KidsATV Safety ; Chemicals in rural areas ; Grain safety summary ; Grain safety background info & activity book ; Paws for farm safety: animal safety ; Rural roadway safety ; Tractor safety. -- NASD (National Ag Safety Database)
- Childhood Agricultural Injury Survey (CAIS) ResultsCDC ; The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
- Children and Safety on the FarmPennState Extension
- Cultivate SafetyThe National Farm Medicine Center and National Children’s Center for Rural and Agricultural Health and Safety
- Child/Youth Agricultural Safety ChecklistCultivateSafety.org
- Down on the farm: preventing farm accidents in children.Conway AE, McClune AJ, & Nosel P. (2007). Down on the farm: preventing farm accidents in children. Pediatric Nursing, 33(1), 45–48.
- Farm Safety for Young ChildrenNASD (National Ag Safety Database), Lynn Graham, Iowa State University, University Extension
- 'Once Upon a Farm...' A Safety Video for Students
This link opens in a new window
HSAchannel YouTube video, posted Apr 13, 2016 - Safety DIY Programs and Brochures Safety "DIY" GuidesKansas Farm Bureau
- Youth Farm SafetyNorth Dakota State University Research Extension Centers
- Youth in Agriculture eToolOSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration)
A Dangerous Day on the Farm by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781908352071Publication Date: 2011-07-25Juvenile fiction. Harey and his friends visit a farm. After many accidents and dangers, involving a farmer, an angry cow and a pool of pig-muck, Harey manages to set a barn alight and runs into a grain silo to hide.
- 6 WAYS TO STAY SAFE WHILE HANDLING CATTLESuccessful Farming, by Natalina Sents Bausch, 7/16/2021
- Cattle Handling SafetyUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison
- Handling Farm Animals SafelyNASD (National Ag Safety Database), Farm Safety Association, Inc.
- Livestock Handling and Confinement SafetyNASD, Michigan State University Extension, by Robert Wilkinson and Anthony Tilma
- Livestock Handling SafetyThe Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences
- Livestock Handling SafetyThe Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (TDI, DWC)
- Livestock SafetyNorth Dakota State University Research Extension Centers
- Working Safely With LivestockOhio State University Extension, Fact Sheet, by Thomas L. Bean
- Working with Livestockfarmsafety.mo.gov
- Potential Zoonoses Associated with CattleCornell University
- Zoonoses Associated with CattleWashington State University
- Zoonotic Diseases & Farm AnimalsOregon Veterinary Medical Association
- Zoonotic Diseases of CattleIowa State University
- Agricultural Tractor Operator TrainingOhio State University
- BALING MACHINE SAFETY TIPSDuke University
- CFAES Tractor Safety Policy and Employee TrainingThe Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences
- Combine Fire PrecautionsAgricultural Safety and Health Program Ohio State University Extension
- Compacting and Baling SafetyNASD (National Ag Safety Database)
- A Guide To Safe Farm Tractor OperationNASD (National Ag Safety Database), Farm Safety Association, Inc.
- National Farm Safety & Health Week: Combine SafetyFarm Journal Ag Web, By MYMACHINERY.COM EDITORS September 20, 2010
- Safe Combine OperationAgricultural Safety and Health Program, Ohio State University Extension, Kent McGuire, 9/2015
- Safe Tractor OperationUniversity of Missouri Extension
- Safety Considerations for Hay Baling SeasonAgricultural Safety and Health Program Ohio State University Extension
- Safety Recommendations When Baling and Handling Round BalesSafety Recommendations When Baling and Handling Round Bales. (2012) Farm and Ranch eXtension in Safety and Health (FReSH) Community of Practice. Retrieved from http://www.extension.org/pages/64301/safety-recommendations-when-baling-and-handling-round-bales.
- Safety Tips: Combine Harvester SafetyMAFES Dawg Tracks (Mississippi Agricultural & Forestry Experiment Station) 8/3/2015
- Think Combine Safety For A Good HarvestFarm Progress, Corn+Soybean Digest, Dick Nicolai, 8/24/2004
- Tractor and Road SafetyNorth Dakota State University Research Extension Centers
- Tractor OverturnsGreat Plains Center for Agricultural Health, University of Iowa
- Tractorsfarmsafety.mo.gov
- Working with Large Round Bale EquipmentNASD (National Ag Safety Database), Ohio State University Extension
- Fire Prevention and Safety Measures around the FarmNASD (National Ag Safety Database), Rutgers Cooperative Extension, Marjorie R. Margentino, Karyn Malinowski
- Fires in Agricultural ChemicalsNASD, University of Missouri Extension, by David E. Baker
- Hay Fire Prevention and ControlNASD, Virginia Cooperative Extension
- Silo FiresNASD (National Ag Safety Database), Ohio State University Extension
- Electrical Safety in AgricultureNASD (National Ag Safety Database), Virginia Cooperative Extension, Glen H. Hetzel, Christopher D. Wyckoff
- 12 lightning safety tipsFarmProgress.com
- Lightning Protection for FarmsNASD (National Ag Safety Database), Cornell Agricultural Safety and Health Program, Eric M. Hallman, Diane Chamberlain
- Lightning SafetyUniversity of Vermont Extension Vegetable and Berry Program, by Vern Grubinger
- Lightning SafetyAgricultural Safety and Health eXtension Community of Practice (CoP), 5)/17/2019
- Across Midwest Farm Fields, Pesticide Exposure Is Tracked Unevenly Or Not At Allwillradio.tv.online (University of Illinois), by Amy Mayer, 5/14/2019. Article discusses pesticide drift from crop dusting
- FertilizersChemicalSafetyFacts.org
- Fertilizer SafetyUniversity of Wyoming Extension
- How Dangerous Is Pesticide Drift?ScientificAmerican.com, 9/17/2012
- Occupational Pesticide Safety and HealthEPA (United States Environmental Protection Agency)
- Practical Solutions for Pesticide Safety: Protecting Agricultural Pesticide HandlersNASD (national Ag Safety Database), Kit Galvin, March Harrington, Pacific Northwest Agricultural Safety and Health (PNASH) Center
- Safe Handling of Pesticides on the FarmOhio State University Extension
- Using Agricultural Anhydrous Ammonia SafelyUniversity of Missouri Extension
See also content located in the Confined Space Entry tab in this research guide.
- Agricultural Respirator Selection GuideAgriSafe.org
- Respirator Fit-TestNC Cooperative Extension, written by Kelsey Lichtenwalner
- Farm Respiratory ProtectionPenn State Extension
- Respiratory Protection in AgricultureNASD (National Ag Safety Database), Glen H. Hetzel, Robert Brisso, Susan Gay, Bruce Stone, Virginia Cooperative Etension
- Respiratory Protection on the Farm and RanchRespiratory protection for the farm and ranch. (2012) Farm and Ranch eXtension in Safety and Health (FReSH) Community of Practice. Retrieved from http://www.extension.org/pages/63440/respiratory-protection-on-the-farm-and-ranch.
- Which Mask for Which TaskNorth Dakota State University Research Extension Centers
- 2020 Summary of U.S. Agricultural Confined Space-Related Injuries and FatalitiesPurdue University Extension, 5/2021
- Agricultural Confined SpacesPurdue University Extension
- Agricultural Confined Spaces Yearly Injury and Fatality Summary ReportPurdue University Extension
- Research and Extension Agenda for Agricultural Confined SpacesCommittee on Agricultural Safety and Health Research and Extension. 2016 Research and Spaces. USDA-NIFA. Washington D.C
- Confined Space Hazards a Threat to FarmersNASD, Michigan State University Extension, by Howard J. Doss, Cornita Tilma
- CONFINED SPACES HOLD SEEN AND UNSEEN DANGERSSuccessful Farming, by Lisa Foust Prater, 9/19/2019
- Confined Space & Agricultural Confined SpacesOhio State University
- Livestock Handling and Confinement SafetyNASD, Michigan State University Extension, by Robert Wilkinson and Anthony Tilma
Confined spaces agskills : a practical guide to farm skills by
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781742569024Publication Date: 2016
See also content located in the Confined Space Entry tab in this research guide.
- BeGrainSafe PlayList
- This link opens in a new window
YouTube video playlist, posted by CASA (Canadian Agricultural Safety Association) Covers the topic of grain entrapment - The Difference Between Grain Bins and SilosIllinois Farm Bureau Partners, by Joanie Stiers
- Farm Augers - know and manage the safety risks
- This link opens in a new window
YouTube video, posted by CASA (Canadian Agricultural Safety Association) 5/11/2011 - Grain Auger SafetyPeen State Extension
- Grain Auger Safety Training ProgramTexas Dept. of Insurance, Div. of Workers' Compensation
- Grain Bin Entrapment: What If It Happens to You? A case study from an Oklahoma County ElevatorNASD (National Ag Safety Database) ; Oklahoma Cooperative Extension, by Carol L. Jones
- Grain Bin SafetyUniversity of Illinois Extension
- Grain Bin SafetyNorth Dakota State University Research Extension Centers
- Grain bin safetyUniversity of Minnesota Extension
- Life threatening grain bin encountersFarmProgress.com
- Grain Dust Explosions and How To Prevent Them
- This link opens in a new window
YouTube, AlChE Academy, posted 7/18/2016 - Grain Dust Explosion Video
- This link opens in a new window
YouTube video, posted by Balaji Ganesan of s demonstration by Dr.Calvin Parnell, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX - Preventing Grain Dust ExplosionsNASD (National Ag Safety Database), Oklahoma Cooperative Extension Service, by Carol Jones
- Why grain bins explodeKHQA Newsdesk, 2/3/2012
- Grain Engulfment and Entrapment
- This link opens in a new window
NASD, Great Plains Center for Agricultural Health. Includes links to videos and multimedia. - Handling & Storing Grainfarmsafety.mo.gov
- HOW DO GRAIN ELEVATORS WORK?Kansas Farm Food Connection
- Life After a Farm Accident – Support & Resources
- This link opens in a new window
Auger accident. NC Cooperative Extension, written by Andrea Gibbs - Safe Operation of On-Farm AugersUniversity of Arkansas System, Div. of Agriculture, Research & Extension, by Sammy Sadaka, Wilmer T. McGraw
- Safe Storage and Handling of GrainUniversity of Missouri Extension, David E. Baker
- Silo Gas and Silo-Filler’s DiseaseUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison, Team Forage
- Silo Gas DangersNASD (National Ag Safety Database), contributed by Farm Safety Association
- Silo Gases - the Hidden DangerPennState Extension
- Silos - About Silo SafetyUniversity of Wyoming Extension
- Suffocation Hazards in Grain BinsNASD, by Bodie Drake, Subodh Kulkarni, Karl Vandevender
- Top grain bin safety tipsIndiana Farm Bureau Insurance, John Nagle, 6/28/2021
- Grain Bin Safety - Lock out/tag out, each time, every time
- This link opens in a new window
"This video was produced and supported in part by Grant Number 5 U540H007548-11 from CDC NIOSH and SH-24931SH3 from the Occupational Safety and Health Administration, U.S. Department of Labor." -- NASD - What is a Grain Bin?About Mechanics, Eric Tallberg
- An Ax to Grind A Practical Ax ManualUSDA Forest Service, author Bernie Weisgerber, 7/1999
- Chainsaw Safety (series)Cornell College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. Includes links to parts 2-4 in the series
- A Complete Guide to Pruning and Trimming TreesFiskars, by Chris Lambton
- Felling, Limbing and Bucking TreesUniversity of Missouri Extension, by Hank Stelzer
- How to Fell a Tree with a Chainsaw
- This link opens in a new window
YouTube video, posted by STIHL USA, 12/7/2015 - How To Make Tree Felling Notches And Hinges With A Chainsaw
- This link opens in a new window
YouTube video posted by Husqvarna USA, 8/13/2013 - Operating a Chain Saw SafelyUniversity of Missouri Extension, by Hank Stelzer
- Pruning Schedule for Shrubs: In the Nick of TimeNew York Botanical Garden
- Pruning trees and shrubsUniversity of Minnesota Extension
- Selecting and Maintaining a Chain SawUniversity of Missouri Extension, by Hank Stelzer
- TREE-FELLING TECHNIQUESuccessful Farming, by Jodi Henke, 11/23/2015
- TREE FELLING TUTORIAL
- This link opens in a new window
YouTube video, posted by Guilty of Treeson @ Eastside Tree Works, 4/20/2020 - Tree Pruning EssentialsPurdue University Extension, FNR-506-W, author Lindsey Purcell
- Tree Pruning TechniquesNew Mexico State University
Chainsaw Operator's Manual by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780643097421Publication Date: 2009-01-01The Chainsaw Operator's Manual is an essential safety tool for chainsaw operators.
