- Sun or Moon Altitude/Azimuth Table"This page calculates the altitude and azimuth of the Sun or Moon at multiple times during any day between 1700 and 2100." A resource of the United States Naval Observatory (USNO)
- Ice Samples Reveal a Massive Sun Storm Hit Earth in Ancient Times...And It Could Happen AgainBy Charles Q. Choi, Live Science Contributor, March 11, 2019
- Helioseismic and Magnetic Imager (HMI)A Stanford Solar Group resource, HMI is an instrument designed to study oscillations and the magnetic field at the solar surface, or photosphere.
- Hidden Portals in Earth's Magnetic FieldNASA, July 2, 2012
- Magnetic Field Uses Sound Waves to Ignite Sun's Ring of FireA National Science Foundation resource
- The Moody SunSPEAKER: Holly Gilbert, 2014/08/19
From webcast description: "Holly Gilbert of NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Md., spoke about the ever-changing sun. " - NASA: Understanding the Magnetic SunSarah Frazier, NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md. Last Updated: Jan. 29, 2016, Editor: Rob Garner
- Solar CycleA NASA resource
- The Chill of Solar MinimumSpaceWeather, SEPTEMBER 27, 2018 / DR.TONY PHILLIPS
- Solar WindA public education website for some of the NASA instruments studying solar wind (stream of particles coming from the Sun).
- Sun Likely Has a Long-Lost TwinSpace.com, By Mike Wall, Space.com Senior Writer, June 14, 2017
- Carrington EventFilms Media Group. (2018). Solar odyssey. Films On Demand. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=97832&xtid=196483.
- Carrington Event, 1859 and Its Effect on American ArtAAD REPORTS, 30 November 2018
- Carrington Solar Flares of 1859: Consequences on LifeMuller C. (2014). The Carrington solar flares of 1859: consequences on life. Origins of life and evolution of the biosphere : the journal of the International Society for the Study of the Origin of Life, 44(3), 185-95.
- 1859 space weather event revisited: limits of extreme activityJ. Space Weather Space Clim. 3 (2013) A31
DOI: 10.1051/swsc/2013053
E.W. Cliver et al., Published by EDP Sciences 2013 - Super Solar FlareA NASA resource about the Carrington Event (1859)
- Sun unleashes monster solar flareFox News Science, (Space.com), By Sarah Lewin
- Surviving Solar Storms: Could the 'Scorch Trials' World Become Real?By Allison Barrie, Published June 10, 2015, FoxNews.com
- The 2017 solar eclipse may prove the Sun is bigger than we thinkFox News/Space.com by Sarah Lewin Space.com
- Windows to the Universe: The SunA National Earth Science Teachers Association resource
- Yohkoh Public Outreach ProjectFrom the website: "...designed to bring you images and movies depicting our nearest star, the Sun, as seen by an X-ray telescope that was carried on board the Yohkoh satellite."
- Mars: OverviewA NASA resource
- Mars has flowing liquid water, NASA confirmsBy James RogersPublished September 28, 2015 FoxNews.com
- Mars: mounting evidence for subglacial lakes, but could they really host life?Phys.org, David Rothery, 9/29/2020
- Mars Trojans may be part of a planet that was destroyed long agoNew Scientist, Daily news, 25 April 2017, by Rebecca Boyle
- More Lakes Found Under the Martian IceBy Dirk Schulze-Makuch, AIRSPACEMAG.COM, SEPTEMBER 28, 2020
- Windows to the Universe: MarsA National Earth Science Teachers Association resource
- Mercury: OverviewA NASA resource
- Windows to the Universe: MercuryA National Earth Science Teachers Association resource
- Venus: OverviewA NASA resource
- Transit of Venus: The Unsung HeroesGuest post by Dr. Sten Odenwald, NASA/ National Institute of Aerospace, who presented a lecture on the Transit of Venus at the Library of Congress on May 8, 2012.
- Windows to the Universe: VenusA National Earth Science Teachers Association resource
- Venus: the Forgotten, Mysterious PlanetLibrary of Congress webcast. SPEAKER: Lori Glaze, EVENT DATE: 2017/08/15, RUNNING TIME: 76 min.
- Carbon content and degassing history of the lunar volcanic glassesBy Diane T. Wetzel, Erik H. Hauri, Alberto E. Saal, Malcolm J. Rutherford, GeoScience, August 24, 2015 (online)
- Crash! 10 Biggest Impact Craters on EarthLiveScience.com, By Becky Oskin, Senior Writer | April 28, 2014 07:48am ET
- Earth's Moon: OverviewA NASA resource
- Make Oreo Moon Phases!
NASA Science Space Place - Earth: OverviewA NASA resource
- Earth Impact DatabaseThe Earth Impact Database (EID) is a collection of images, publications and abstracts from around the world (compiled over the last 25 years) that provides information about confirmed impact structures for the scientific community and space enthusiasts.
- MoonsNASA Science Solar System Exploration
- Terrestrial Impact CratersViews of the Solar System Copyright © 1995-2011 by Calvin J. Hamilton
- Windows to the Universe: EarthA National Earth Science Teachers Association resource
Origin of the Moon - New Concept by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9783110286403Publication Date: 2012-10-01
- Jupiter: OverviewA NASA resource
- Touring Jupiter's Big Moons: Io, Ganymede, Europa, CallistoA Space.com video, this is preceded by commercials
- Active Volcanoes of Our Solar SystemA Geology.com (commercial website) resource
- Volcanoes: Near, Far and Really Far AwayA Library of Congress webcast featuring Dr. Ashley Davies, a volcanologist at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory. He studies volcanic eruptions on Earth and Io, the volcanic moon of Jupiter.
- Windows to the Universe: JupiterA National Earth Science Teachers Association resource
- Jupiter's moon Ganymede has a salty ocean with more water than EarthFox. News. Miriam Kramer, Published March 12, 2015 Space.com
Galileo's Planet by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0585254478Publication Date: 1998-01-01EBSCO ; 2 user license.
- Active Volcanoes of Our Solar SystemA Geology.com (commercial website) resource
- Cassini: the Grand FinaleA NASA resource
- Cassini Finds 'The Big Empty' Close to SaturnMay 1, 2017, NASA, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Written by Jia-Rui Cook and Preston Dyches
- REVISED ORBITS OF SATURN'S SMALL INNER SATELLITESThe Astronomical Journal, Volume 135, Number 1 .Published 2007 December 7, 2008.
- Saturn: OverviewA NASA resource
- Windows to the Universe: SaturnA National Earth Science Teachers Association resource
- Uranus: OverviewA NASA resoruce
- Windows to the Universe: UranusA National Earth Science Teachers Association resource
- Neptune: OverviewA NASA resource
- Active Volcanoes of Our Solar SystemA Geology.com (commercial website) resource
- Windows to the Universe: NeptuneA National Earth Science Teachers Association resource
- Discovery of A New Retrograde Trans-Neptunian Object: Hint of A Common Orbital Plane for Low Semi-Major Axis, High Inclination TNOs and CentaursYing-Tung Chen, Hsing Wen Lin, Matthew J. Holman, Matthew J. Payne, Wesley C. Fraser, Pedro Lacerda, Wing-Huen Ip, Wen-Ping Chen, Rolf-Peter Kudritzki, Robert Jedicke, Richard J. Wainscoat, John L. Tonry, Eugene A. Magnier, Christopher Waters, Nick Kaiser, Shiang-Yu Wang, Matthew Lehner
- Ceres: OverviewA NASA resource
- Ceres: The Smallest and Closest Dwarf PlanetBy Nola Taylor Redd, Space.com Contributor, February 3, 2016 09:10pm ET
- NASA releases cool images of dwarf planet CeresPublished April 20, 2016 FoxNews.com
- New Horizons: NASA'S Mission to Pluto© 2015 The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory LLC
- Solar System Exploration: PlutoA NASA resource
- Pluto: The 'Other' Red PlanetNASA, July 3, 2015
- Dwarf Planet Pluto: Facts About the Icy Former Planetby Charles Q. Choi, Space.com Contributor. November 03, 2014
- Why is Pluto no longer a planet?A Library of Congress Everyday Mysteries resource
- Dwarf Planets: OverviewA NASA resource
- Windows to the Universe: Dwarf PlanetsA National Earth Science Teachers Association resource
- Dwarf Planets: Science & Facts About the Solar System’s Smaller Worldsby SPACE.com Staff, January 30, 2015
- "Is Pluto a planet again?"Planetarium, University of Southern Maine
Is Pluto a Planet? by Call Number: SBU BOL Book 523.2 W433iISBN: 9780691138466Publication Date: 2008-12-14
- Apollo 11 : first moon landingSummary On July 20, 1969, Neil Armstrong and "Buzz" Aldrin became the first humans to set foot on the Moon. This NBC News program hosted by Jane Pauley captures the monumental Apollo 11 mission-from launch, to moonwalk, to splashdown, and beyond. In addition, Brian Williams provides a brief history of the space program.
- Apollo 11 in Real Time: Hear Every Word & See Everything!Library of Congress, July 11, 2019 by Ellen Terrell ; This post was authored by Stephanie Marcus, Science Reference Librarian in the Science, Technology, and Business Division
- Apollo 13NASA
The Apollo spacecraft : a chronology by Call Number: SBU BOL Book 629.47 Er88aPublication Date: 1969-1978
- Kuiper Belt & Oort Cloud: OverviewA NASA resource
- Kuiper Belt Objects: Facts about the Kuiper Belt & KBOsA Space.com resource
- What is the Kuiper Belt?UniverseToday.com, by Matt Williams on June 16, 2015
- Windows to the Universe: The Kuiper BeltA National Earth Science Teachers Association resource
- Oort CloudEncyclopedia Britannica, Primary Contributor: Armand H. Delsemme
- Oort Cloud© Swinburne University of Technology
- Evidence for a Distant Giant Planet in the Solar SystemDraft version. Jan. 22, 2016 The Astronomical Journal, Volume 151, Issue 2, article id. 22, 12 pp. (2016).
- Hunt for ninth planet reveals new extremely distant Solar System objectsCarnegie Science, Monday, August 29, 2016
- Hypothetical 'Planet X': Overview"This Website is produced for the NASA Planetary Science Division by the solar system communications team at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory | California Institute of Technology"--website
- Scientists may have just found a ninth planet and it's massiveBy Michael Casey Published January 20, 2016 FoxNews.com
- Astronomy 161: the Solar SystemA Dept. Physics & Astronomy, University of Tennessee resource
- JPL Small-Body Database Browser"The JPL Small-Body Database Browser provides data for all known asteroids and many comets. Available data include: orbital elements, orbit diagrams, physical parameters, discovery circumstances. Newly discovered objects and their orbits are added on a daily basis. Discovery circumstances are updated on a roughly monthly interval. Physical parameters, other than magnitude parameters, are updated on a less frequent basis." -- NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
- Solar System ExplorationA NASA resource
- Surface temperatures of the inner rocky planetsEarthguide & Scripps Institution of Oceanography
- The Inner Solar System: Discovering Earth's Neighborhood w/ Dr. James GarvinA NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center resource
- Backyard Worlds: Planet 9"The ongoing Backyard Worlds: Planet 9 project, funded by NASA, lets anyone join the quest to find more mysterious objects in spacecraft data." -- https://www.nasa.gov/feature/citizen-scientists-discover-dozens-of-new-cosmic-neighbors-in-nasa-data
- 95 'cool worlds' discovered in Milky Way near the sunBy Chris Ciaccia, Fox News
- Minor Planet Center"The Minor Planet Center (MPC) is the single worldwide location for receipt and distribution of positional measurements of minor planets, comets and outer irregular natural satellites of the major planets." -- website
Encyclopedia of the Solar System by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780124158450Publication Date: 2014-07-21
