Springfield Contact/Library Info Links
Library Information
Nursing & Health Sciences Personal Librarian
Online Nursing Skills Videos
To access an SBU video resource, click on the link in your library research guide. This should open the video in the SBU database in which it is housed. If you have not logged into Open Athens in your current browser, you will be required to enter your SBU credentials before proceeding. Once the video loads, press play.
- Films On Demand: Nursing Video CollectionThis video collection contains over 485 nursing videos.
Care Planning Resources
- Lippincott AdvisorThis is an expanding collection of more than 16,000 evidence-based entries and patient teaching handouts that will eliminate wasted time spent on unreliable Internet searches, empower your nurses with the knowledge and confidence to make clinical decisions, and facilitate delivery of care in both familiar and unfamiliar settings, as well as reduce the opportunity for error.
- CINAHL Complete -- Evidence-Based Care SheetsPDF guides, listed alphabetically by topic, that provide a summary of information on how to care for and educate a patient with a common disease or condition.
- CINAHL Complete -- Quick LessonsQuick, PDF guides that provide descriptions of diseases/conditions with a guide to patient assessment, list of treatment goals, and a patient and family education guide. The Quick Lessons are listed alphabetically by topic.
Websites for Consumer Health Information
These websites provide free, reliable health information to consumers and healthcare professionals. Nursing students can use these to further their own knowledge or to help educate patients and family members.
- MedlinePlusProduced by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus has information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in easy-to-understand language. You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations.
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionThe CDC provides abundant information on current health news and travel-related health alerts.
- National Institutes of Health: Health InformationThe NIH provides health information on diseases and wellness in booklets, handouts, and easy-to-follow webpages.
- DailyMedDailyMed provides standard, comprehensive, and up-to-date information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts).
- Health and Human Services: AgingThe U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services provides information on healthy aging behaviors, caregiver resources, elder justice, and other resources for senior adults.