Springfield Contact/Library Info Links
Library Information
Nursing & Health Sciences Personal Librarian
Great Websites for Nursing Students
- American Nursing Association (ANA)From the website: The ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatoryagencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.
- National Institutes of HealthFrom the website: The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
- National Library of MedicineFrom the website: The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest medical library. The Library collects materials and provides information and research services in all areas of biomedicine and health care.
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionFrom the website: The CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services
- Nursing CenterFrom the website: Created by nurses, for nurses, Lippincott's NursingCenter.com is the premier destination site for your clinical and professional informational needs. We are committed to providing credible, current, authoritative, evidence-based resources to help you in your practice. You may need to register to access some of the information on this website.
- Sigma Theta Tau InternationalFrom the website:The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) – In 1922 six nurses founded STTI at the Indiana University Training School for Nurses, now the Indiana University School of Nursing, in Indianapolis, Ind., USA. The founders chose the name from the Greek words Storgé, Tharsos and Timé meaning "love," "courage" and "honor."
Videos
To access an SBU video resource, click on the link in your library research guide. This should open the video in the SBU database in which it is housed. If you have not logged into Open Athens in your current browser, you will be required to enter your SBU credentials before proceeding. Once the video loads, press play.
- Films On Demand: Nursing Video CollectionThis video collection contains over 485 nursing videos.
- Films On Demand: Allied HealthThis video collection will help prepare future allied health professionals for practice across a diverse range of health care settings, whether they are learning how to draw blood, administer medications, or help deliver a baby.
Mobile Sites & Apps for Nursing Information
Centers for Disease Control Mobile
Find information on disease prevalence in the U.S. and other health data. Free.
DailyMed Mobile from the National Library of Medicine
Search for drug information by name or class. Free.
Medline Plus Mobile from the National Library of Medicine
Provides information on conditions, drugs, and a medical dictionary, plus health news. For all devices. Free.
Diagnosaurus 2.0 from McGraw-Hill
PubMed Mobile from the National Library of Medicine
Search PubMed for articles using the Mobile interface or download the app for iOS or Android devices. Free.
Taber's Medical Dictionary for Mobile