Patent Resources
- PATENTSCOPE" For anyone involved in patent research, the World Intellectual Property Organization's PATENTSCOPE is a useful free tool. Researchers have access to around 30 million patent documents from participating countries, including the US. Included are some 2.2 million published international patent applications (PCT). The PCT documents and bibliographic data are updated daily..."--Choice Reviews Online
Animations
- USGS Educational Videos and Animations
This link opens in a new window
Open Access
Featured Databases/Indexes
- OpenAlex"OpenAlex is a fully open catalog of the global research system. It's named after the ancient Library of Alexandria" -- docs.openalex.org
General Science Resources
- AGRICOLA (National Agriculture Library)" AGRICOLA consists of the Article Citation Database and NAL Catalog. Records in both data sets are updated daily. The NAL Catalog includes records for monographs, serials, technical reports, audiovisual items, and many foreign and domestic dissertations held by NAL and cooperating libraries."--Choice Reviews Online.
- AGRIS: International Information Systems for the Agricultural Sciences and TechnologyThis UN website is highly recommended by Choice Reviews.
- BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)From the website: "BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library."
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database (National Library of Medicine)
Highly recommended by Choice Reviews. - DNA Tube - Scientific Video Site
- This link opens in a new window
- EMBL-EBIEuropean Molecular Biology Laboratory and European Bioinformatics Institute. It manages databases of biological data.
- Encyclopedia of EarthSupported by the Environmental Information Coalition and the National Council for Science and the Environment.
- Energy Citations DatabaseFrom the website: "The Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2,443,000 science research citations with continued growth through regular updates.
- Entrez Cross-Database Search"Entrez is NCBI’s primary text search and retrieval system that integrates the PubMed database of biomedical literature with 39 other literature and molecular databases"--Entrez help screen.
- Habitable Planet
- This link opens in a new window
"A video course for high school teachers and college-level instruction; 13 half-hour video programs, online text, professional development guide, and interactives."--website - HealthMapFrom the website: "HealthMap brings together disparate data sources, including online news aggregators, eyewitness reports, expert-curated discussions and validated official reports, to achieve a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health."
- HHMI (Howard Hughes Medical Institute) BioInteractive
- This link opens in a new window
- Howard Hughes Medical InstituteFrom the resource: "A philanthropy serving society through biomedical research and science education"
- How to keep up with the scientific literatureDOI: 10.1126/science.caredit.a1600159
ScienceMag.org, by Elisabeth PainNov. 30, 2016 - Information BridgeThe Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information provides free public access to over 279,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature.
- Lab Tests OnlineFrom the website: "Lab Tests Online has been designed to help you, as a patient or family caregiver, to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases." Recommended by Choice Reviews.
- Martindale's "The Reference Desk"A commercial website, this provides links to resources in many subject areas.
- MedEdPortalFrom the website: "MedEdPORTAL is an open education resource and publication service provided by the Association of American Medical Colleges in partnership with the American Dental Education Association.
- Mendeley Reference Manager"Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research:"--Elsevier. "Readers of ACS content can now add articles to their Mendeley library directly from the journal article page, just as you couild with ACS ChemWorx Reference Manager. Signing up for a Mendeley account is free and only takes a few seconds. Additional ACS ChemWorx functionality, including tracking publication and reviewing activity, can be found on the ACS Publishing Center." -- ACS
- Nature Online Video Streaming Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- NDT Resource CenterFrom the website: "This site was designed to be a comprehensive source of information and materials for NDT and NDE technical education. The site was created by nondestructive testing professionals and educators from around the world."
- OpenAlex"OpenAlex is a fully open catalog of the global research system. It's named after the ancient Library of Alexandria" -- docs.openalex.org
- Online ConversionA commercial site, this attempts to "Convert just about anything to anything else. Over 5,000 units, and 50,000 conversions."
- Open Textbook LibraryMOBIUS is proud to announce our membership in the Open Textbook Network an alliance of over 305 colleges and universities working together to advance the use of open textbooks in higher education. The OTN's tools and services assist its member libraries in building sustainable open textbook programs ... MOBIUS's membership means that all member libraries are now members of OTN and are eligible to participate in their program. " -- MOBIUS email dated 5/4/2017.
- Science360 Video
- This link opens in a new window
"Science videos provided by scientists, colleges and universities, science and engineering centers, the National Science Foundation and more." - SciTechScience, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy. SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database.
- TOXNET (U.S. National Library of Medicine)As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services.
- Women in STEM: A Guide to Bridging the Gender GapMaryville, University
