Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to main navigation
Skip to utility navigation
Skip to main content
A-Z Journal Tracker
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Southern Baptist Periodical Index
How Do I...
APA Style Guide
Locating Research Guides for Classes
Requesting Books Not Owned By SBU
View All Tutorials
Checkout / Renewal
Request New Purchase
Media Services Spaces
Scheduling a Session
Media & Equipment
Computers & Equipment
About the Library
Due Dates, Fines & Fees
Mission, Vision, Core Values
News & Upcoming Events
Southwest Baptist University
History & Political Science
Enter Search Words
History & Political Science: Biographical Information
General guide for the Department of History and Political Science at SBU
United States History
General Resources and Newspapers
UN & Government Documents
The Black Renaissance in Washington, D.C., 1920–1930s
Information on African Americans and people of African descent in other parts of the world dating back to the 18th century.
The Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences
From University of California - Irvine. Not updated since 2007, but useful for older information.
The History Makers
Concerned with preserving untold personal stories. Contains audio and video clips.
Arts, Music, Entertainment and Sports
All About Jazz—Musicians
ESPN—Top North American Athletes of the 20th Century
International Movie Database
Music Academy Online—Composer Biographies
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
The van Gogh Gallery—Artist Biographies
Van Gogh, plus 250 other prolific artists.
General Biographical Resources
Academy of Achievement
Profiles, biographies and interviews with leaders in art, business, public service, science and sports. Includes links to podcasts.
BBC Historic Figures
From The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia; best for current and popular biographies.
Search by category, as well as name or the A to Z list.
Online database of obituaries.
Biographies and profiles from PBS shows.
Inventors, Scientists, Mathematicians
Women Mathematicians—Agnes Scott College
Alphabetical and chronological indexes, as well as links to other resources.
Eric Weisstein’s World of Scientific Biography
Search by name, nationality, award, gender, historic period.
Invention Dimension (MIT)
MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
From University of St. Andrew in Scotland. Search by name, topic, time period and culture.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Astronaut Biographies
The National Inventors Hall of Fame
U.S. and World Leaders
Biographical Dictionary of the United States Congress, 1774-Present
De Imperatoribus Romanis: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Emperors (DIR)
Scholarly, peer-reviewed, with bibliographies and footnotes.
The Official Website of the British Monarchy
POTUS: Presidents of the United States
Includes speeches, writings, election results, highlights, and links to other sites.
White House Residents Biographies
The Academy of American Poets
Native American Authors
Browse by author, title of work, or tribe.
Distinguished Women of Past and Present
National Women’s Hall of Fame
United States House of Representatives—History, Art and Archives—Women in Congress
based on the book, Women in Congress, 1917–2006
United States Senate—Women in the Senate
The White House—The First Ladies
General Resources and Newspapers >>
Jan 12, 2021 1:51 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
united states history
Ask a Librarian