This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History & Political Science: General Resources and Newspapers

General guide for the Department of History and Political Science at SBU

Data Base Links

Historical Images


Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative is a free database from ATLA that provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography. CDRI is a historical repository of collections from various institutions and is not updated.

ERef Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Newspaper Articles

 World News Digest This online news digest is updated weekly and summarizes current events. You can browse by decade and year by year the most important events, year’s top stories, historic events, key issues and people.  There is also a “What Happened That Day” feature. 

Newspaper Source - This database is comprised of over 40 U.S. and international newspapers. It also include some regional newspapers, as well as news transcripts.

Newsbank - Consists of local, regional, as well as national newspapers in the United States. Some special features include "Current Events" and "Special Reports."

Wall Street Journal - Preeminent source for business news and market information worldwide, available from 1984 to present.

Newspaper Articles dated before 1980:  To find newspaper articles dated prior to 1980, you will need to use print newspaper indexes, which list newspaper articles organized by topic and year.  The following index is available in the Reference Department:

New York Times Ref 051 N489n 

To use an index, select the volume with the correct year and look up your topic.  Make a note of the newspaper title, year, date, page and section where your article is located.  Try looking for articles from different newspapers across the country for unique information and perspectives on the topic.   Remember the reference staff is available to assist you!

Reference Books

The following books, located in the Reference Department’s collection, focus on historical events. 

Chase’s Calendar of Events  Electronic Resource

Hutchinson Chronology of World History  Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates  Ref  973.02 C237e

Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary  Electronic Resource

The Timetables of History: a Horizontal Linkage of People and Events  Ref 902.02 G923