- Interpreting the MerckResearch guide from Saint Leo University that explains how to utilize the Merck Index.
- Using the Merck Index
This link opens in a new window
A WCU Hunter Library tutorial. Please note, any call number referenced in the video is for the WCU library, not SBU. Our copy is: SBU BOL Ref Book 615.1 M537m - CAS REGISTRY and CAS Registry Number FAQsAmerican Chemical Society
The Merck Index by Call Number: SBU BOL Ref Book 615.1 M537m, 2013ISBN: 9781849736701Publication Date: 2013-04-30
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
- This link opens in a new window
A WCU Hunter Library tutorial. Please note, any call number referenced in the video is for the WCU library, not SBU. Our copy is: SBU BOL Ref Book 541.9 H191h - CRC Handbook
- This link opens in a new window
A JMU Library tutorial. Please note, any call number referenced in the video is for the JMU Library, not SBU. Our copy is: SBU BOL Ref Book 541.9 H191h - CAS REGISTRY and CAS Registry Number FAQsAmerican Chemical Society
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 95th Edition by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781482208689Publication Date: 2014-06-04
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by Call Number: Ref Book 541.9 H191hISBN: 9780367417246Publication Date: 2020-06-05
- Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC)Highly recommended by Choice Reviews Online, 2004.
- Chemistry by Design: Learning by Using the Graphical Language of Organic ChemistryCreated by Professor Jon T. Njardarson
(Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Arizona) - Chemistry DailyChemistry Daily advertises itself as a free resource for chemistry students.
- ChemWebFrom the website: "Journal Abstracts from chemistry publishers such as Bentham, Elsevier, Springer and others covering over 500 journals can be searched and accessed for free."
- Common Chemistry
Common Chemistry™ from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. - Concept Development Studies in ChemistryThis work is licensed by John S. Hutchinson under a Creative Commons Attribution License License (by 2.0). Supported by William & Flora Hewlett Foundation, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, 20 Million Minds Foundation, Maxfield Foundation, Open Society Foundations, and Rice University.
- Deep Carbon Observatory"The Deep Carbon Observatory (DCO) is a global research program designed to transform understanding of carbon's role in Earth. DCO is a community of scientists, including biologists, physicists, geoscientists and chemists, whose work crosses several traditional disciplinary lines to develop the new, integrative field of deep carbon science."--Wikipedia, 04/13/2017
- Lab Tests OnlineFrom the website: "Lab Tests Online has been designed to help you, as a patient or family caregiver, to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases." Recommended by Choice Reviews.
- Linus Pauling and the Nature of the Chemical Bond: A Documentary HistoryA digital collection of the Special Collections & Archives Research Center, The Valley Library, Oregon State University
- MARVINTools for drawing, displaying and characterizing chemical structures, substructures and reactions. Some free functionality for academic users.
- Medical Biochemistry PageFrom the Choice Review: "This online textbook thoroughly presents many aspects of biochemistry, with an emphasis on clinical medicine; it features straightforward text and high-quality illustrations..."
- Organic Chemistry for BiologistsBy Ron Swisher, professor of Natural Science at Oregon Institute of Technology. Organic Chemistry for Biologists by Ron Swisher, Ph.D. is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
- Organic Chemistry Laboratory CH 233/234 (Boston College)Boston College Chemistry Experiments by Lynne O'Connell is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
- Organic Chemistry Laboratory WebsiteAn University of Alberta website, it includes interactive tutorials, information on laboratory rules and safety, laboratory technique videos, and tips for writing lab reports.
- Organic Compounds DatabaseThis 2483 compound database has been compiled by Harold M. Bell at Virginia Tech.
- Organic Syntheses WebsiteAn open access web version of Organic Syntheses.
- Professor Emeritus Hans Reich's organic chemistry resourcesHans Reich at UW-Madison
- PROWLLaboratory of Mass Spectrometry and Gaseous Ion Chemistry
- Structure & Reactivity in Organic, Biological and Inorganic ChemistryThis site is written and maintained by Chris P. Schaller, Ph.D., College of Saint Benedict / Saint John's University (with contributions from other authors as noted). It is freely available for educational use. Structure & Reactivity in Organic, Biological and Inorganic Chemistry by Chris Schaller is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License. This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 1043566.
- UFDC - Chemical EngineeringAn Univ. of Florida Digital Collection web resource
- Virtual Labs at Amrita Vishwa VidyapeethamAn Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham University resource
- Basic IUPAC Organic Nomenclature"These materials provide a step-by-step guide to learning organic nomenclature and are intended for those taking Introductory Organic Chemistry at a college or university."--website. © Dr. Ian Hunt, Department of Chemistry, University of Calgary
- IUPAC Rules for Naming Organic MoleculesStanislaw Skonieczny, Department of Chemistry, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, J. Chem. Educ., 2006, 83 (11), p 1633 DOI: 10.1021/ed083p1633
- Organic Chemistry IUPAC Nomenclature Demystified With A Simple Puzzle Piece ApproachMaster Organic Chemistry guest post by Leah Fisch of Leah4Sci.com , an online resource for learning organic chemistry,
- Recommendations on Organic & Biochemical Nomenclature, Symbols & Terminology etc.From the website: "World Wide Web material prepared by G. P. Moss School of Biological and Chemical Sciences, Queen Mary University of London"
The Bridge to Organic Chemistry by Call Number: SBU BOL Book 547 Y73ISBN: 9780470526767Publication Date: 2010-08-09
Nomenclature of Organic Compounds by Call Number: SBU BOL Book 547.0014 F833ISBN: 0841236488Publication Date: 2001-05-03
Organic Chemistry as a Second Language by Call Number: SBU BOL Book 547 K672 Sem 1ISBN: 9781118010402Publication Date: 2011-07-12
- ChemiCool DictionaryChemicool was created by David D. Hsu. of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and is maintained by Dr. Doug Stewart.
Encyclopedia of Chemistry by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781438163161Publication Date: 2016-05-01Praise for the previous edition: ...a good encyclopedia for high-school and public libraries.--Booklist[This] comprehensive [resource] cover[s] important discoveries and definitions of basic terms and concepts, and offer[s] short biographies of leading scientists.--School Library Journal...[a] top pick for science library holdings...a fine reference to both terminology and basic concepts...--Midwest Book ReviewThe comprehensive Encyclopedia of Chemistry, Revised Edition is the definitive reference to this vast subject area. Hundreds of chemistry-related entries, thought-provoking essays, leading discoveries, and biographies of notable chemists throughout history provide high school and early college students with the most complete information available. Addressing a subject whose understanding is crucial to all mature science students, Encyclopedia of Chemistry, Revised Edition presents an engaging, informative approach to learning.Additional material directs students to further pursue their studies, including links to informative websites and a bibliography. Students and professionals alike will benefit from the extensive coverage and easy-to-use format of this resource.Entries include:Atomic mass unit (amu)Binary fissionBoyle's lawCheletropic reactionEnzyme inductionFahrenheit, Daniel GabrielG-factorHeisenberg Uncertainty PrincipleKrebs cycleNuclear binding energyPheromonePhotosynthesisPolymerizationProton transfer reactionRate of reactionRadiocarbon datingRadonSupercooled liquidsThermonuclear energy.
Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781438109381Publication Date: 2009-01-01EBSCO ; Single user license.
Kirk-Othmer Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Call Number: SBU BOL Ref Book 660.03 K634ISBN: 9780470047484Publication Date: 2007-07-16
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Chemistry by Call Number: SBU BOL Ref Book 540 M178cISBN: 0070454558Publication Date: 1993-02-01
Organic Chemist's Desk Reference by Call Number: SBU BOL Book 547 C784ISBN: 9781439811641Publication Date: 2010-07-23
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780471615255Publication Date: 2005-02-03
Additional media resources may be found by searching the Films on Demand database. https://libguides.sbuniv.edu/FOD
Analytical Chemistry: A Chemist and Laboratory Technician's Toolkit by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781119069690Publication Date: 2015-10-01unlimited simultaneous users license
Basic Organic Chemistry for the Life Sciences by Call Number: SBU BOL Book 547 V277ISBN: 3319076043Publication Date: 2014-07-11
The ethical chemist : professionalism and ethics in science / by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780190668655Publication Date: 2018
Experiments in Organic Chemistry by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781487583033Publication Date: 1966-12-15
The Handy Chemistry Answer Book by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781578594566Publication Date: 2013-10-01
How to Solve Organic Reaction Mechanisms by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781118698518Publication Date: 2015-01-14
Organic Chemistry Demystified by Call Number: SBU BOL Book 547 B62ISBN: 9780071767972Publication Date: 2012-03-06
Organic Chemistry I for Dummies® by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781118828076Publication Date: 2014-04-21
Organic Chemistry II for Dummies by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780470596951Publication Date: 2010-06-08
- CAMEO ChemicalsNOAA
- Laboratory Chemical Safety ToolkitStanford University Environmental Health & Safety
- Laboratory Safety GuidanceOccupational Safety and Health Administration, U.S. Department of Labor OSHA 3404-11R 2011
- Lab Safety Rules and GuidelinesLab Manager
Laboratory Safety for Chemistry Students by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781119243373Publication Date: 2016-03-28
Chemical Laboratory Safety and Security by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780309392204Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Complete Guide to Laboratory Safety, Fourth Edition by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781556451287Publication Date: 2014-07-25
- ChemWiki: the Dynamic Chemistry TextbookAn Univ. of California-Davis resource
- Freshman Organic Chemistry IOpen Yale Courses
- Freshman Organic Chemistry IOpen Yale Courses
- LibreTexts Organic ChemistryLibreTexts libraries are Powered by MindTouch® and are supported by the Department of Education Open Textbook Pilot Project, the UC Davis Office of the Provost, the UC Davis Library, the California State University Affordable Learning Solutions Program, and Merlot.
- OER Commons"OER Commons, created by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education, was developed to serve curriculum experts and educators in discovering open educational resources (OER) and collaborating around the use, evaluation, and improvement of those materials." -- Wikipedia article, viewed 6/7/2017
- Open ChemistryUniversity of California, Irvine is a sustaining member of the Open Education Consortium
- Organic ChemistryKhan Academy
- Organic Chemistry ISarah Tabacco, and Barbara Imperiali. 5.12 Organic Chemistry I. Spring 2003. Massachusetts Institute of Technology: MIT OpenCourseWare, https://ocw.mit.edu. License: Creative Commons BY-NC-SA.
- Organic Chemistry IIKimberly Berkowski, and Timothy Jamison. 5.13 Organic Chemistry II. Fall 2006. Massachusetts Institute of Technology: MIT OpenCourseWare, https://ocw.mit.edu. License: Creative Commons BY-NC-SA.
- Organic Chemistry with a Biological EmphasisTim Soderberg (University of Minnesota, Morris)
Loading ...
Loading ...
