Images from Subscription Databases
SBU Libraries pays subscription fees to several electronic database vendors, which also provide access to images. While you still need to credit the source that you retrieved an image from, images found in these databases may be used for academic purposes.
- Britannica Online: Academic EditionThis reference database combines the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools to provide users with a variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research.
- MasterFile PremierThis multidisciplinary database provides full-text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full-text for nearly 500 reference books; 164,400+ primary source documents; and an image collection of 592,000+ photos, maps, & flags.
Free Images & Fair Use
The Web site handout & presentation on image copyright may serve as a point of reference when deciding how to use an image for academic purposes.
Free Image Web Sites
There are several Web sites that provide free access to images. This does not mean that you can use the images without crediting the source in a presentation or research paper for class. For more specifics on citing and determining image copyright policies, check out the PowerPoint presentation, which is available in the box located to the left labeled "Free Images & Fair Use."
Subject Guide
1600 University Avenue
Bolivar, MO 65613
Room 109