Springfield Contact/Library Info Links
Library Information
Contact Us
What are Databases
- Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
- Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.
(Ruth Szpunar at DePauw University)
Recommended Databases
- CINAHL CompleteThis database is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals. It is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
- Health and Medicine CollectionThis resource provides up-to-date information on a complete range of health care topics from 2,500+ full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
- MedlinePlusThe National Library of Medicine created and maintains this resource to assist in locating authoritative health information. It contains carefully selected links to websites with health information on 900+ topics. The health topic pages include links to current news and related information. The A.D.A.M. medical encyclopedia brings health consumers an extensive library of medical images and videos, as well as 4,000+ articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries.
Search Multiple Databases
Tutorials on Searching Databases
- CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching TutorialThis tutorial demonstrates the basic searching features of the suite of CINAHL databases on EBSCOhost.
- CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching TutorialThis tutorial demonstrates the advanced searching features of the suite of CINAHL databases on EBSCOhost.
- SBU Libraries Evaluating ArticlesThis tutorial covers how to evaluate articles you have found through the library website to see if they will work for your research paper or project.