This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIS 3833 - Gilded Age and Progressivism: Selected Websites

Web Resources

This Day in History—Type in your date for events divided into more than a dozen topics with brief articles from this History Channel web site.

Today in History –Search a particular date in the History Archive of the Library of Congress American Memory web site.

Anyday Page –Find out births and deaths, religious holidays, historical events, religious history, and soldiers missing in action on your selected date.

Timelines of History –Choose a date for a detailed list of historical events.

On-This-Day.com – Famous birthdays, miscellaneous history, and music history are listed here.

Infoplease Daily Almanac – Use the “Today’s Birthdays” or “This Day in History” features to research a date.

Brainy History – Search for events in history as well as notable birthdays and deaths.

Websites

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library. "American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections."
http://memory.loc.gov/

Best of History Web Sites
http://besthistorysites.net/

HyperHistory Online
http://www.hyperhistory.com/online_n2/History_n2/a.html

Internet History Sourcebooks Project
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/

Student's Guide to the Study of History
http://www.historyguide.org/guide/guide.html

World History Center at Northeastern University
http://www.h-net.msu.edu/~envision/interact/history.html

Timelines: Sources from History

http://www.bl.uk/learning/histcitizen/timeline/historytimeline.html

 

Compilation of Presidential Documents

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CPD

 

The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History

http://digital.libraries.ou.edu/whc/duke/

 

The Archaeology Channel

http://archaeologychannel.org/

more web sites

CLIO Notes

CLIO Notes are brief overviews of historical events. Click on the link below, then at the top of the screen click the button "CLIO Notes". This will bring up an index to the topics

Associations

Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Historical Association
http://www.historians.org/

Historical Association
http://www.history.org.uk/

National Council for History Education
http://www.nche.net/

Organization of American Historians
http://www.oah.org/

Society for History Education
http://www.thehistoryteacher.org/

World History Association
http://www.thewha.org/