Anatomy

Discusses connective tissues, epithelial tissues, tissue repair, regeneration and engineering.

OpenStax College A & P textbook. Creative Commons License Anatomy and Physiology by OpenStax College is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License

AnatomyAtlases.org is curated by Ronald A. Bergman, Ph.D.

Human Anatomy and Development, Yale University School of Medicine, Dissection, radiology and web exercises, 2011-2012

"AO Surgery Reference is an internet-based resource for the management of fractures, based on current clinical principles, practices and available evidence. It describes the complete surgical management process from diagnosis to aftercare for fractures in a given anatomical region, and also assembles relevant published AO material. It is open to anyone, free of charge." -- Description from an Alberta Health Services web resource: http://krs.libguides.com/az.php

From the website: " ... a virtual 3D body that brings to life thousands of medically accurate anatomy objects and health conditions in an interactive Web-based platform."

Highly recommended in Choice Reviews Online, Feb. 2013

"The WebPath® educational resource contains over 2700 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions. For self-assessment and self-directed study there are over 1300 examination items. There are more than 20 tutorials in specific subject areas. These computer-aided instructional materials support educational programs in the health sciences."--website

This website consists of a list of anatomy websites for nurses.

Covers the Musculoskeletal, Cardiovascular, Respiratory, Gastrointestinal, Reproductive, Endocrine, and Nervous systems

A National Cancer Institute resource, this module introduces the structure and function of the human body.

Cosumnes River College

U.S. National Library of Medicine resource

An University of Minnesota resource

3D anatomy by ZygoteBody.com. Some content is free, advanced features require a subscription

OpenStax Microbiology. Provided by: OpenStax CNX. Located at: http://cnx.org/contents/e42bd376-624b-4c0f-972f-e0c57998e765@4.2. License: CC BY: Attribution.

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

A Britannica Academic article, this includes links to videos and websites

A Franklin Institute resource

National Cancer Institute

This video discusses the different types of nutrients and differentiates between nutrients and electrolytes. It looks at the digestive organs, traces the process of digestions, considers the role of peristalsis in digestion, and looks at the role of blood vessels in digestion.

A Colorado State University resource

Defining the term homeostasis, the program examines three classes of hormones produced by the endocrine system and considers the role of negative feedback in hormone activity. It discusses the "master gland," the role of the hypothalamus, the types of thyroid hormones, and the seven major endocrine glands.

WARNING: Viewer discretion advised. Some content in this video may be objectionable. This video shows the layers of the dermis and epidermis, describes the process by which the skin surface forms, explains the roles of collagen and elasatin, and looks at the skin's role in maintaining body temperature. It also consider the two types of glands located in the integumentary system.

Physiotherapist Dominic Richmond, CapitalPhysio.com

Bones are connected to each other at their joints, held in place by ligaments. Movement occurs from the action of 650 muscles attached to bones with tendons. Athletes strengthen and work muscle pairs called antagonists.

American Society for Surgery of the hand

Credits: Michael F. Dauzvardis, Ph.D., John A. McNulty, Ph.D., Baltazar Espiritu, M.D., David Lee, Susan Sadowski, Greg Klitz, Manzi Yuan

Differentiating among skeletal, smooth, and cardiac muscle, this video looks at the properties of muscle tissue and how muscles work together to create movement. It describes the effects of strenuous activity on the muscular system and considers how the terms involuntary and voluntary related to muscles.

The official Web site of the American Academy of Neurology

Dana Foundation

by Paul D. Larsen, M.D., University of Nebraska School of Medicine, Suzanne S. Stensaas, Ph.D., University of Utah School of Medicine

by Paul D. Larsen, M.D., University of Nebraska School of Medicine, Suzanne S. Stensaas, Ph.D., University of Utah School of Medicine

An Emory University resource

Keith A. Johnson, M.D., J. Alex Becker, Ph.D., Harvard University. A collection of MR images of the brain.

This video differentiates between the central and peripheral nervous systems, looking at the types of organs and cells involved. It considers the role of cerebral spinal fluid in the nervous system and describes the funtion of the autonomic nervous system.

Films Media Group

WARNING Viewer Discretion is advised. This video contains nudity. Examining the components of the male and female reproductive systems, this video looks at the male and female reproductive cells, discusses the role of hormones in the female reproductive cycle, shows the processes of ovulation and fertilization, and traces the changes that occur to the fertilized egg during pregnancy. It also differentiates between colostrum and breast milk.

"The Embryo Project Encyclopedia is a digital and Open Access publication of the Embryo Project. Begun in 2007, the Encyclopedia and the Embryo Project are funded by the US National Science Foundation in Washington D.C., and by Arizona State University in Tempe, Arizona. The Embryo Project is a collection of researchers who study the historical and social contexts of developmental and reproductive biology." --The Embryo Project Encyclopedia

Explaining two main functions of the respiratory system, this video differentiates between ventilation and gas exchange, looks at the components of the respiratory system, describes the process of gas exchange, looks at expiration and inhalation, and describes how oxygen and carbon dioxide levels initiate respiration.

This video describes the four shapes of bones, differentiates between diaphysis and epiphyses of the long bones, and looks at the axial and appendicular skeletons. It describes the role of fontanels in protecting the infant's brain, lists five divisions of the vertebral column, names three types of rib pairs in the thorax, and describes the function of the six types of diarthrosis joints.

Films on Demand

in Anatomy and Physiology. Medcom Video Training Programs Collection. Cypress: Medcom, Inc. Jan 1, 2013

in Anatomy and Physiology. Medcom Video Training Programs Collection. Cypress: Medcom, Inc. Jan 1, 2013.

Looking at the components of the urinary system, this video examines the anatomy of the kidneys, describes the process of urine filtration, explains how micturition occurs, and discusses the role of the urinary system in maintaining homeostasis.

AnatomyAtlases.org is curated by Ronald A. Bergman, Ph.D.

Content and Photographs by Charlie Goldberg, M.D., UCSD School of Medicine and VA Medical Center, San Diego, California. "This site is a visual educational resource dedicated to providing pictures that are representative of common and uncommon physical exam findings. Discussions of pathophysiology, diagnostics, and treatment are not included."--website

The Open Anatomy Project, Surgical Planning Laboratory, Department of Radiology
Brigham and Women's Hospital, a teaching affiliate of Harvard Medical School

Keith A. Johnson, M.D., J. Alex Becker, Ph.D., Harvard University. A collection of MR images of the brain.

The Visible Body app.is a paid app, not a free app.

SusaSoftX

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, DNA Learning Center

The Open Anatomy Project, Surgical Planning Laboratory, Department of Radiology
Brigham and Women's Hospital, a teaching affiliate of Harvard Medical School

WARNING viewer discretion is advised. Some videos contain nudity. This series provides a comprehensive overview of human anatomy. Each of the ten programs focuses on one body system and includes brief descriptions of how on each system interacts with or impacts others. The information is presented in a logical as well as entertaining format, with clear descriptions and explanations reinforced by full color animated graphics. Comparisons using common experiences and everyday objects assist the learner in remembering the information presented. This series is appropriate for nursing and other healthcare related training programs as well as high school and lower division college science departments. Wide-screen format.

An University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health resource

An University of Michigan Medical School resource

National Library of Medicine

Carnegie Mellon University Open Learning Initiative