Databases - NUR 1028 – Patient Centered Care - SBU Libraries at Southwest Baptist University Libraries

What are Databases

Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.

(Ruth Szpunar at DePauw University)

Selecting a Database
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial
This tutorial demonstrates the basic searching features of the suite of CINAHL databases on EBSCOhost.
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial
This tutorial demonstrates the advanced searching features of the suite of CINAHL databases on EBSCOhost.
SBU Libraries Research Strategies and Nursing Literature Review
Information from the SBU Libraries on researching a nursing literature review for students in course NUR 4333.
SBU Libraries Evaluating Articles
This tutorial covers how to evaluate articles you have found through the library website to see if they will work for your research paper or project.
PubMed for Librarians: Introduction
Learn about the difference between PubMed and MEDLINE, how to run a basic PubMed search, how to assess your search results, where to find search details, how to customize PubMed with My NCBI, and different ways to search for a known citation. We also briefly introduce Medical subject headings (MeSH), automatic term mapping, search tags and subheadings.

CINAHL Complete
This database is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals. It is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Lippincott Advisor
This is an expanding collection of more than 16,000 evidence-based entries and patient teaching handouts that will eliminate wasted time spent on unreliable Internet searches, empower your nurses with the knowledge and confidence to make clinical decisions, and facilitate delivery of care in both familiar and unfamiliar settings, as well as reduce the opportunity for error.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
This resource features head-to-toe and systems physical exam videos completely reshot with an emphasis on clinical accuracy and patient care. These patient encounter videos allow you to practice your clinical reasoning skills and review for exams, such as OSCEs.