Featured Media
Additional media resources may be found by searching the Films on Demand database. https://libguides.sbuniv.edu/FOD
Mount St. Helens: back from the deadCall Number: SBU BOL DVD Disc 551.21 M863ISBN: 0841887012676Publication Date: 2010
- Mt St Helens: Back From the DeadA NOVA/ORF co-production by Interspot for WGBH Boston in association with ZDF/ARTE, BMUKK, Fremantle Media, supported by Fernsehfonds Austria.
- Crater LakeCrater Lake's volcanic history. Video. Britannica Academic, Encyclopædia Britannica, 3 Feb. 2017. academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/assembly/view/18417. Accessed 21 Feb. 2017.
- Lava: Volcanic Activity at KilaueaAn Encyclopedia Britannica video
- Living RockAn USGS video resource, approx. 60 min.
- Mount St. Helens: The EruptionAn Encyclopedia Britannica video - 1 min., 12 sec.
- Deadliest Volcanoes (NOVA)
This link opens in a new window
- Popocatépetl Volcano Explosion1:23 p.m., June 17, 2013
- Pumice: Volcanic Activity at KilaueaAn Encyclopedia Britannica video - 1 min., 36 sec.
- VolcanismAn Encyclopedia Britannica entry
- VolcanoAn Encyclopedia Britannica undersea volcano video - 54 sec.
- Volcano emits 'silent scream' before explosive eruptionFox News (3 min., 53 sec.)
- Volcanoes: Formation of ParicutínAn Encyclopedia Britannica video - 1 min., 36 sec.
- Volcanoes: Formation of SurtseyAn Encyclopedia Britannica video - 1 min., 46 sec.
- Volcanoes on the Verge: Ken SimsUW Geology & Geophysics Youtube video, Published on Sep 16, 2015
Professor Kenneth Sims, isotope geochemist and volcanologist, giving an invited talk at the Museum of Science, Boston in 2012. - Volcanoes; Vesuvius; PompeiiAn Encyclopedia Britannica video - 1 min., 18 sec.
- Dr. Diana Roman - When the Volcano Stirs (streaming video)Carnegie Public Lecture, Wednesday, May 31, 2017 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm by Dr. Diana Roman, Staff Scientist, Department of Terrestrial Magnetism, Carnegie Institution of Science
Volcano Video Cams
- Ruapehu (Mt. Doom from the Lord of the Rings Trilogy)Geonet is the official source of geological hazard information for New Zealand.
- VolcanoDiscovery.com WebcamsA VolcanoDiscovery resource
Photographic Images
- U.S. Geological Survey Photographic LibraryFrom the website: "This site is designed to provide free viewing and downloading of the entire USGS photographic collection."