Subject Guides middle-left
Library Information
Welcome
On this page you will find video tutorials to help you make the most of the library's resources. New videos will be added frequently, so check back soon. If you have a great idea for a video tutorial, contact us with the links to the left and let us know.
Library Basics
- Renewing a bookA guide to renewing a book online using Millennium.
- Requesting books through MOBIUSA guide to using MOBIUS to request books from any university in Missouri to be delivered to your library.
- Finding DVD and VHS materialsA guide to searching the library catalog for DVD and VHS materials.
- Finding journals, newspapers, and magazinesA walkthrough on finding periodical materials offered by the library.
- Requesting articles through interlibrary loanSo you found an article in a database, but it doesn't have full-text access? Watch this video to see how to order it.
- Using the document camerasLearn how to make free digital photocopies of library materials using document cameras.
- Research... Where Do I Begin?A how-to on starting the research process.
- Searching by KeywordHow to apply the keyword search techniques that Google taught you to search the libraries' database and catalog.
- Road to Research - Starting Points (UCLA)Need more visuals on developing a successful research topic that can be transformed into a search? Check out this tutorial by UCLA Libraries.
- Searching by SubjectGo beyond the keyword search to look for the relationship that exists between words, in this case subjects. It will significantly narrow down your search results!
- Requesting Books Via Interlibrary LoanRequesting books via interlibrary loan when SBU and MOBIUS don't have what you need.
- Evaluating InformationDetermine if an article, book, or website is a legitimate resource for your speech or paper.
- Locating a Course LibGuideThe librarians at SBU create guides for specific classes and assignments. Not sure how to find a LibGuide or how to navigate the resources listed, check out this how-to tutorial!
- Locating Course ReservesNot sure which books or media materials your professor has placed on course reserve? Locate the list yourself!
- Primary & Secondary SourcesDiscover the difference between primary and secondary sources.
Searching Library Databases
- Boolean Tutorial: Searching Effectively Using AND, OR, NOTWatch this brief tutorial from Colorado State University Libraries on some search techniques to apply when using library databases.
- Advanced Boolean Tutorial: Combining AND, OR, NOTIf you feel ready to take your database search skills to a whole new level, view this tutorial by Colorado State University Libraries on advanced boolean searches.
- Searching Effectively Using Truncation TutorialIf you are looking for articles related to a word that has various spellings, such as theater or theatre OR has both singular and plural forms, such as cat or cats, you may want to learn how truncation works.
EBSCO Databases
- Introduction to EBSCOhostA primer on using the EBSCOhost search interface that applies to all EBSCO databases.
- Using EBSCO Virtual FoldersHow to use EBSCO's virtual folders to save and easily browse a custom collection of articles and citations.
- ATLAWhat is ATLA, and how do I use it?
- eBook Collection - Downloading TitlesHow to download eBooks from EBSCO's eBook Collection to your computer or mobile device.
- Creating Permalinks in EBSCO DatabasesWhether you are a faculty member or a student, you can create permanent links to articles found in library databases, providing other faculty and students on campus with direct links to content.
e-Books
SBU Libraries provide access to several e-book sources. Select the e-book source you want to learn about below.
Gale Databases
- Using Contemporary Literary CriticismFinding literary criticism online through a library database.
- Gale Literary IndexFind literary criticism for novels, poems, and short stories.
JSTOR Database
- Keeping Up: Alerts in JSTORDiscover how to set-up RSS feed and e-mail alerts in JSTOR.
- Searching JSTORA how-to tutorial on searching JSTOR.
- JSTOR's Data for Research (DfR): Key terms and academic currencyFind out which key terms are used for your topic in JSTOR!
Contact the Reference Librarian |


Loading...
