Skip to Main Content

Biblical Studies - Selected Sources and Research Materials: Jesus and the Gospels

Database Help Links

Help for Databases

Contact/Library Info Links

Contact Us

Library Information

Topics in Jesus and the Gospels

Note: due to the the large amount of overlap regarding the various topics related to Jesus and the Gospels, only one large list will be presented on this page. Breaking it down by topic would result in the same books being repeated in nearly every topic.

General Bibliography

General Bibliography

"Capernaum." Encyclopedia of archaeological excavations in the holy land.
"Death of Jesus." Dictionary of Jesus and the gospels. Ed. Joel B. Green.
"Galilee." Dictionary of Jesus and the gospels. Ed. Joel B. Green.
"Galilee." Dictionary of New Testament backgrounds.
"Galilee." Encyclopedia Judaica.
"Galilee." International standard Bible encyclopedia.
"Galilee." New international dictionary of biblical archaeology.
"Historical Jesus, Quest of." Dictionary of Jesus and the gospels. Ed. Joel B. Green.
"Kingdom of God/Heaven." Dictionary of Jesus and the gospels. Ed. Joel B. Green.
"Synoptic problem." Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels. Ed. Joel B. Green.
"Synoptics and John." Dictionary of Jesus and the gospels. Ed. Joel B. Green.
Encyclopedia Judaica.
Aharoni, Yohanan. Land of the Bible: a historical geography.
Aharoni, Yohanan. Macmillan Bible atlas.
Allison, Dale C. Constructing Jesus: memory, imagination, and history.
Allison, Dale C. Jesus of Nazareth: millenarian prophet.
Arnal, William E. Whose historical Jesus?
Bailey, Kenneth E. Poet and peasant: a literary cultural approach to the parables in Luke.
Bammel, E. Jesus and the politics of his day.
Beasley-Murray, George R. Jesus and the kingdom of God.
Beilby, James. Historical Jesus: five views.
Bellinzoni, Arthur. Two-source hypothesis: a critical appraisal.
Bock, Darrell. Key events in the life of the historical Jesus: a collaborative exploration of context and coherence.
Borg, Marcus. Conflict, holiness, and politics in the teachings of Jesus.
Borg, Marcus. Jesus in contemporary scholarship.
Borg, Marcus. Jesus: uncovering the life, teachings, and relevance of a religious revolutionary.
Brandon, S.G.F. Jesus and the zealots: a study of the political factor in primitive Christianity.
Brown, Raymond E. Birth of the Messiah: a commentary on the infancy narratives in the gospels of Matthew and Luke.
Brown, Raymond E. Death of the Messiah: from Gethsemane to the grave: a commentary on the Passion narratives in the four Gospels.
Bryan, Christopher. Render to Caesar: Jesus, the early church, and the Roman superpower.
Burkett, Delbert. Rethinking the Gospel sources, volume 2: the unity or plurality of Q.
Burkitt, F. Crawford. Gospel history and its transmission.
Free online: Archive.org
Carson, D.A and Moo, Douglas. Introduction to the New Testament.
Cassidy, Richard J. Jesus, politics, and society: a study of Luke’s gospel.
Chancey, Mark A. Myth of a Gentile Galilee.
Chancey, Mark. Greco-Roman culture and the Galilee of Jesus.
Charlesworth, James H. Historical Jesus: an essential guide.
Charlesworth, James H. Jesus within Judaism: new light from exciting archaeological discoveries.
Charlesworth, James H. Jesus’ Jewishness: exploring the place of Jesus in early Judaism.
Charlesworth, James H. Sage from Galilee: rediscovering Jesus’ genius.
Chilton, Bruce. Jesus and the ethics of the kingdom.
Crossan, John Dominic. Excavating Jesus: beneath the stones, beneath the texts.
Crossan, John Dominic. Historical Jesus: life of a Mediterranean Jewish peasant.
Crossan, John Dominic. Who killed Jesus? Exposing the roots of anti-semitism in the gospel story of the death of Jesus.
Cullman, Oscar. Jesus and the revolutionaries.
Currie, Robin. Letter and the scroll: what archaeology tells us about the Bible.
Davies, W.D. Setting of the sermon on the mount.
Dawes, Gregory. Historical Jesus quest: landmarks in the search for the Jesus of History.
Dodd, C.H. Parables of the kingdom.
Downing, F. Gerald. “Compositional conventions and the synoptic problem.” Journal of Biblical Literature 107 no 1, 1988.
Dunn, James. Jesus remembered.
Evans, C. Stephen. Historical Christ and the Jesus of Faith.
Evans, Craig A. Dictionary of New Testament Backgrounds.
Evans, Craig A. Fabricating Jesus: how modern scholars distorts the gospel.
Farmer, William R. Synoptic problem.
Farmer, William R. “Present state of the synoptic problem.” Perkins Journal 32 no 1, 1978.
Farmer, William R. “Synoptic problem: the inadequacies of the generally accepted solution.” Perkins Journal 33 no 4, 1980.
Flusser, David. Jesus.
Fredriksen, Paula. Jesus of Nazareth, king of the Jews: a Jewish life and the emergence of Christianity.
Freyne, Sean. Galilee from Alexander the Great to Hadrian.
Freyne, Sean. Galilee, Jesus, and the Gospels: literary approaches and historical investigations.
Fuller, Reginald H. ; Longstaff, Thomas R W. ; Sanders, E P. “Synoptic problem: after ten years.” Perkins Journal 28 no 2, 1975.
Funk, Robert. Acts of Jesus: what did Jesus really do?
Funk, Robert. Five Gospels : the search for the authentic words of Jesus : new translation and commentary.
Funk, Robert. Gospel of Jesus: according to the Jesus seminar.
Funk, Robert. Parables of Jesus: red letter edition—a report of the Jesus seminar.
Goodman, Martin. State and society in Roman Galilee.
Green, Joel B. Death of Jesus: tradition and interpretation in the passion narrative.
Green, Joel B. Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels.
Greenberg, Gary. Judas brief: who really killed Jesus?
Hanson, K.C. Palestine in the time of Jesus: social structures and social conflicts.
Hawkins, John Caesar. Horae synopticae: contributions to the study of the synoptic problem.
Free online: Archive.org
Hendricks, Obery. Politics of Jesus: rediscovering the true revolutionary nature of Jesus’ teachings and how they have been corrupted.
Hengel, Martin. Property and riches in the early church: aspects of a social history of early Christianity.
Hengel, Martin. Victory over violence: Jesus and the revolutionists.
Herzog, William R. Parables as subversive speech: Jesus as pedagogue of the oppressed.
Hiers, Richard H. Historical Jesus and the kingdom of God: present and future in the message and ministry of Jesus.
Hoehner, Harold W. Chronological aspects of the life of Christ.
Horsley, Richard. Archaeology, history, and society in Galilee: the social context of Jesus and the Rabbis.
Horsley, Richard. Bandits, prophets, and messiahs: popular movements in the time of Jesus.
Horsley, Richard. Galilee: history, politics, people.
Horsley, Richard. Jesus and empire: the kingdom of God and the new world disorder.
Horsley, Richard. Jesus and the powers: conflict, covenant, and the hope of the poor.
Horsley, Richard. Jesus and the spiral of violence : popular Jewish resistance in Roman Palestine.
Jeremias, Joachim. Jerusalem in the time of Jesus: an investigation into economic and social conditions during the New Testament period.
Josephus, Flavius. Jewish antiquities, Jewish war, the life and contra apionem.
Keener, Craig S. Historical Jesus of the Gospels.
Kloppenborg, John S. Formation of Q: trajectories in ancient wisdom literature.
Levine, Amy-Jill. Misunderstood Jew: the Church and the scandal of the Jewish Jesus.
Mack, Burton L. Myth of innocence: Mark and Christian origins.
Magness, Jodi. Stone and dung, oil and spit: Jewish daily life in the time of Jesus.
Malina, Bruce J. New Testament world: insights from cultural anthropology.
Matera, Frank. Passion narratives and gospel theologies: interpreting the synoptic through their passion stories.
McIver, Robert K. Memory, Jesus, and the synoptic gospels.
McKnight, Scot. Who do my opponents say that I am? An investigation of the accusations against Jesus.
Merrill, Selah. Galilee in the time of Christ.
Free online: Archive.org
Neander, August. Life of Jesus Christ in Its Historical Connexion and Historical Development.
Free online: Archive.org
O’Brian, Patrick. Daily life in the time of Jesus.
Parrinder, Edward. Jesus in the Qur’an.
Perkins, Pheme. Introduction to the synoptic gospels.
Perrin, Norman. Jesus and the parables of the kingdom.
Perrin, Norman. Kingdom of God in the teachings of Jesus.
Reed, Jonathan L. Archaeology and the Galilean Jesus: a reexamination of the evidence.
Richardson, Alan. Political Christ.
Ridderbos, Herman. Coming of the kingdom.
Riesner, Rainer. “Bethany beyond the Jordan.” Tyndale Bulletin 38, 1987.
Robinson, James. New quest of the historical Jesus.
Rousseau, John J. Jesus and his world: an archaeological and cultural dictionary.
Sanders, E.P. Jesus and Judaism.
Schurer, Emil. History of the Jewish people in the time of Jesus Christ.
Schweitzer, Albert. Quest for the historical Jesus.
Senior, Donald. Passion of Jesus in the gospel of John.
Senior, Donald. Passion of Jesus in the gospel of Luke.
Senior, Donald. Passion of Jesus in the gospel of Mark.
Senior, Donald. Passion of Jesus in the gospel of Matthew.
Sewell, Peter. “Synoptic problem: a stylometric contribution regarding Q.” Colloquium 33 no 1, 2001.
Smallwood, E. Mary. Jews under Roman rule.
Stegemann, Ekkehard. Jesus movement: a social history of its first century.
Stein, Robert H. Synoptic problem: an introduction.
Stern, Menahem. Greek and Latin authors on Jews and Judaism.
Straus, David F. Life of Jesus, critically examined (2 volumes).
Free online: Archive.org (Volume 1), Archive.org (Volume 2)
Theissen, Gerd. Historical Jesus: a comprehensive guide.
Toews, John E. “Synoptic problem and the genre question.” Direction 10 no 2, 1981.
Vaux, Roland de. Ancient Israel: its life and institutions.
Vermes, Geza. Who’s who in the age of Jesus.
Witherington III, Ben. Jesus quest: the third search for the Jew of Nazareth.
Wright, N.T. Challenge of Jesus: rediscovering who Jesus was and is.
Wright, N.T. Jesus and the victory of God.
Wright, N.T. Resurrection of the Son of God.
Yoder, John H. Politics of Jesus.

Subject Guide

University Libraries

Email Me

Contact:

417-328-1620