It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lantagne, S. (2017). Famous on the Internet: The spectrum of Internet memes and the legal challenge of evolving methods of communication [PDF]. https://lawreview.richmond.edu/files/2018/01/Lantagne-522.pdf
Casey, B. M. (2021, August 29). Art, power, and profit at Duke University. The Assembly. https://www.theassemblync.com/long-form/art-power-and-profit-at-duke-university/.
"Two longtime Duke faculty members are behind an anticipated $2 million in art sales that raise questions about the ethical use of public-domain images, power imbalances within academia, and a university’s thorny role as a gatekeeper of information and access."--website
The Web site handout & presentation on image copyright may serve as a point of reference when deciding how to use an image for academic purposes. For further questions, please contact SBU Libraries.
Images from Subscription Databases
SBU Libraries pay subscription fees to several electronic database vendors, which also provide access to images. While you still need to credit the source that you retrieved an image from, images found in these databases may be used for academic purposes.
This reference database combines the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools to provide users with a variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research.
This multidisciplinary database provides full-text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full-text for nearly 500 reference books; 164,400+ primary source documents; and an image collection of 592,000+ photos, maps, & flags.
Free Image Web Sites
There are several Web sites that provide free access to images. This does not mean that you can use the images without crediting the source in a presentation or research paper for class. For more specifics on citing and determining image copyright policies, check out the PowerPoint presentation, which is available in the box located to the left labeled "Free Images & Fair Use."