Here are some other books that you might consider...they're in the Libraries' reference collection.  These books cannot be checked out, but they often provide a great overview and will help you get started in the research process!

Short Story Criticism

Short Story Writers

Short Stories for Students

A Dictionary of Literary Symbols

Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature

Literary Movements for Students

The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature

Contemporary Literary Criticism 

Twentieth Century Literary Criticism

Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism

Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature

Novels for Students

Critical Survey of Poetry

Poetry Criticism:  Excerpts From Criticism of the Works of the Most Significant and Widely Studied Poets of World literature

Classic Writings On Poetry

Dictionary of Literary Biography

The Cambridge History of English Literature 

Literature and its Times

World Literature and its Times

Identities & Issues in Literature

A Dictionary of Biblical Tradition in English Literature

Keyword Searches

• Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
• Asthma
• Miracles

Subject Searches

• Bullying
• Revenge
• Child Sexual Abuse
• Bildungsromans, American -- History and Criticism (Bildungsroman means coming of age, which is what you witness in Enger's Peace Like a River, as the characters grow and mature).
• Asthma -- Social Aspects
• Protestant churches -- United States -- Doctrines
• Murder -- Minnesota
• Capital Punishment -- Religious Aspects -- Christianity
• Forgiveness -- Religious Aspects -- Christianity
• Creative Writing -- Therapeutic Use 
• Brothers and Sisters -- Psychological Aspects

Titles of Interest

You can search the Libraries' catalog by selecting Subject or Keyword from the drop down menu to the left of the big search box.  

Keyword Searches:

• Victor Frankenstein
• Frankenstein's Monster
• Mary Shelley
• Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley

Subject Searches:

• Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft
• Frankenstein, Victor (Fictitious character)
• Frankenstein's Monster (Fictitious character)
• Scientists - Fiction
• Monsters-Fiction
• Science-Moral and ethical aspects
• Allusions in literature
• Characters and Characteristics in Literature
• Psychology and literature

You can search the Libraries' catalog by selecting Subject or Keyword from the drop down menu to the left of the big search box.  This is a great way to find books on your novel!

Keyword Searches:

• Hasidic Jews
• Chaim Potok

Subject Searches:

• Potok, Chaim -- Criticism and Interpretation
• Potok, Chaim -- Interviews
• Hasidism -- United States
• Hellenism
• Characters and Characteristics in Literature
• Symbolism in Literature --- Dictionaries
• Friendship in Adolescence
• Fathers and Sons
• Judaism
• Judaism and Secularism
• Suffering