This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDU 3212: Finding Information

Screening, Diagnosis and Prescription in Early Childhood Education

Mental Measurement Yearbook (Buros)

Note: This book is in the Reference Section of the Curriculum Lab, not the main area of the library.

  • Be sure to consult the table of contents; the index is NOT in the very back of the book.
  • Each test has several sections which describe the test, report on the technical specifications, discuss the validity of the test and other information used to appraise and inform
  • There are also sections on tests that were not able to be evaluated

Database Links

Finding Journal Titles

A-Z Journal Tracker

 A-Z Journal Tracker is a listing of all the libraries' journal subscriptions. Use this to check if journals and appropriate publication years are available electronically or in print. If you already have a journal citation, or you are looking for a particular journal title, use this source.

Catalog Search

Find a book:
Search Type:
Location:

Search for books, videos, audio, periodicals, and more at SBU and other nearby libraries.

Search Multiple Databases

Find Articles:
Subject:
Full Text:

ERef Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Important Information for Searching

For best results when searching the database for reviews of assessment tests:

  • Go to the box on the left called "Search Multiple Databases"
  • In the "Find Articles" search box type the name of the test
  • In the "Select Subject" box use drop down menu to select "Education"
  • Click search (the results will come up in another tab so you can still refer to the LibGuide for directions)
  • You can refine your list by adding "reviews" to the second search box

General searching tips:

  • Limit your results to "peer-review" (located on the left) to only get scholarly articles
  • You can also use the slider to select the date range for the results
  • clicking on the "subject terms" boxes will limit your search to only articles using those subject terms
  • You can re-do a search using subject terms found in an article to narrow or broaden the focus of your search
  • If you are having trouble locating any material, click "Subject Terms" at the top of the page, then type the term you want to use in the lower search box. This will bring you to a list of terms used in this database, or direct you to the term that they use for that concept
  • If the subject terms list still doesn't help, use an online thesaurus to find similar terms to use in a search.