Database Help Links
Help for Databases
Contact/Library Info Links
Library Information
Topics in History of Christianity
Abortion and the Patristic Church
Anabaptists
- Biesecker-Mast, Gerald. “The Persistence of Anabaptism as Vision.” Mennonite Quarterly Review 81, 2007.
- Stayer, James, Werner Packull and Klaus Depperman. “From Monogenesis to Polygenesis.” Mennonite Quarterly Review 49, 1975.
- Stayer, James. “Swiss Brethren: An Exercise in Historical Definition.” Church History 47, 1978.
Anti-trinitarianism
- Biddle, John. “Locke’s Critique of Innate Principles and Toland’s Deism.” Journal of the History of Ideas 37, 1976.
- McLachlan, H. John. Socinianism in Seventeenth-Century England.
Apostasy and the Patristic Church
Bogomils
- Sharenkoff, Victor Nicholov. “Bogomils.” Anglican Theological Review 7 no 3, 1924.
- Groote, Marc de. “Anonymous sermon against the Hagarenes, the Bogomils, and the Jews.” Harvard Theological Review 97 no 3, 2004.
Calvin and His Followers
- Beza, Theodore. Christian faith. Trans. James Clark.Free online: James Clark
- Boersma, Hans. “Calvin and the Extent of the Atonement”. Evangelical Quarterly 64 no 4,1992.
- Ferguson, Sinclair B. “The Teaching of the Confession”. Westminster Confession in the Church Today: Papers Prepared for the Church of Scotland Panel on Doctrine. Ed. Alasdair I. C. Heron.
- Hall, Basil. “Calvin Against the Calvinists”. John Calvin. Ed. G. E. Duffield.
- Kennedy, Kevin. “Was Calvin a Calvinist? John Calvin on the extent of the atonement.” Whosoever will : a biblical-theological critique of five-point Calvinism, Ed. David L. Allen and Steve W. Lemke.
- Letham, Robert. “Faith and Assurance in Early Calvinism: A Model of Continuity and Diversity”. Later Calvinism: International Perspectives. Ed. W. Fred Graham.
- Muller, Richard A. “Theodore Beza (1519-1605)”. Reformation Theologians. Ed. Carter Lindberg.
- Peterson, Robert A. “Theodore Beza: 1519-1605”. Shapers of Religious Traditions in Germany, Switzerland, and Poland, 1560-1600. Ed. Jill Raitt.
- Thorson, Stephen. “Tensions in Calvin's View of Faith: Unexamined Assumptions in R T Kendall's Calvin and English Calvinism to 1649”. Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society 37, 1994.
- Torrance, James B. “Strengths and Weaknesses of the Westminster Theology”. Westminster Confession. Ed. Alisdair Heron.
Church and the Military in the Pre-Constantinan Context
- Bainton, Roland H. “Early church and war.” Harvard Theological Review 39 no 3, 1946.
- Barber, Patrick G. “Christian views of military participation prior to the reign of Constantine.” Restoration Quarterly 53 no 2, 2011.
- Cadbury, Henry Joel. “Basis for early Christian antimilitarism.” Journal of Biblical Literature 27 no 1-2, 1918.
- Childress, James F. “Moral discourse about war in the early church.” Journal of Religious Ethics 12 no 1, 1984.
- Gero, Stephen. “Miles gloriosus: the Christian and military service according to Tertullian.” Church History 29 no 3, 1970.
- Helgeland, John. “Christians and the Roman army, AD 173-337.” Church History 43 no 2, 1974.
- Hunter, David G. “A decade of research on early Christians and military service.” Religious Studies Review 18 no 2, 1992.
- Ryan, E.A. “Rejection of military service by the early Christians.” Theological Studies 13 no 1, 1952.
Columba
- Adamnan. Life of Columba.Free online: Archive.org
- Bede. Ecclesiastical history of England.Free online: CCEL
- Neander, Augustus J. Light in dark places: or, a memorial of Christian life in the middle ages.Free online: CCEL
- Clark, Columba Bruce. “Columba sails east.” Road to Emmaus 5 no 2, 2004.
- LeMasters, Philip. “Celtic Christianity: its call to discipleship.” Encounter 60 no 4, 1999.
- Herbert, Maire. Iona, Kells, and Derry: the history and hagiography of the monastic family of Columba.
- Montalembert, Charles F. Saint Columba: apostle of Caledonia.Free online: Archive.org
- Cooke, Edward Alexander. Life and works of St. Columba.Free online: Archive.org
- Hull, Eleanor. Early Christian Ireland.Free online: Archive.org
- Smith, John. Life of Saint Columba, the apostle of the highlands.Free online: Archive.org
- Cusack, Mary F. Lives of Saint Columba and Saint Brigit.Free online: Archive.org
- Branford, Victor. St. Columba: a study of social inheritance and spiritual development.Free online: Archive.org
- Menzies, Lucy. Saint Columba of Iona: a study of his life, his times, and his influence.Free online: Archive.org
- Forbes, Francis A. Life of Saint Columba, apostle of Scotland.Free online: Archive.org
Constantine
- Armstrong, G.T. "Church and state relations: the changes wrought by Constantine." Journal of Bible and Religion 32, 1964.
- Azkoul, Michael. “Sacerdotium et imperium: the Constantinian renovation according to the Greek fathers.” Theological Studies 32 no 3, 1971.
- Eusebius. “Life of Constantine.” Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers Series 2. Volume 1. Trans. Philip Schaff.Free online: CCEL
- Robertson, James C. Sketches of church history, from AD 33 to the reformation.Free online: CCEL
- Schaff, Philip. History of the Christian Church. Volume 3.Free online: CCEL
- Storch, Rudolf. “Eusebian Constantine.” Church History 40 no 2, 1971.
- Theodoret. “Ecclesiastical history of Theodoret, Book 1.” Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers Series 2. Volume 3. Trans. Philip Schaff.Free online: CCEL
Gilbert Burnet and John Foxe
- Allen, D. “Introduction.” History of His Own Time.
- Bartlett, I.R. “John Foxe as Hagiographer: the question revisited.” Sixteenth Century Journal 26, 1995.
- Drabble, J.E. “Gilbert Burnet and the History of the English Reformation.” Journal of Religious History, 1983
- Preston, J.H. “English Ecclesiastical Historians and the Problem of Bias, 1559-1742.” Journal of the History of Ideas 32, 1971.
Girolamo Savonarola
- Becker, Marvin B. “Comment on Savonarola, Florence, and the millenarian tradition.” Church History 27 no 4, 1958.
- Kolb, Robert. “Saint John Hus and Jerome Savonarola, confessor of God: the Lutheran canonization of late medieval martyrs.” Concordia Journal 17 no 4, 1991.
- Ulback, Edward. “Savonarola.” Bibliotheca Sacra 96 no 382, 1939.
- Weinstein, Donald. “Savonarola, Florence, and the millenarian tradition.” Church History 27 no 4,1958.
- Weinstein, Donald. “Savonarola: preacher and patriot.” History Today 29 no 11, 1989.
Gregory the Great
- Dudden, F. Homes. Gregory the Great: his place in history and thought (2 volumes).Free online: Archive.org (Volume 1), Archive.org (Volume 2)
- Neander, Augustus J. Light in dark places: or, a memorial of Christian life in the middle ages.Free online: CCEL
- Robertson, James C. Sketches of church history, from AD 33 to the reformation.Free online: CCEL
Inquisition
- Courtenay, William J. “Inquiry and inquisition: academic freedom in medieval universities.” Church History 58 no 2, 1989.
- Kelly, Henry Ansgar. “Inquisition and the prosecution of heresy: misconceptions and abuses.” Church History 58 no 4, 1989.
- Lea, Henry Charles. History of the inquisition of Spain (4 volumes).
- Lea, Henry Charles. History of the inquisition of the middle ages (3 volumes).
- Mott, Margaret. “Rule of faith over reason: the role of the inquisition in Iberia and New Spain.” Journal of Church and State 40 no 1, 1998.
Jan Hus
- Batka, Lubomir. “Jan Hus’ theology in a Lutheran context.” Lutheran Quarterly 23 no 1, 2009.
- Fudge, Thomas A. “Infoelix His: the rehabilitation of a medieval heretic.” Fides et Historia 30 no 1, 1998.
- Fudge, Thomas A. “Shouting Hus: heresy appropriated as propaganda in the sixteenth century.” Communio Viatorum 38 no 3, 1996.
- Herold, Vilem. “Jan Hus: a heretic, a saint, or a reformer?” Communio Viatorum 25 no 1, 2003.
- Kolb, Robert. “Saint John Hus and Jerome Savonarola, confessor of God: the Lutheran canonization of late medieval martyrs.” Concordia Journal 17 no 4, 1991.
- Noble, Ivana. “Jan Hus in ecumenical discussion.” Journal of European Baptist Studies 6 no 2, 2006.
- Zeman, Jarold K. “Restitution and dissent in the late medieval renewal movements: the Waldensians, the Hussites and the Bohemian Brethren.” Journal of the American Academy of Religion 44 no 1, 1976.
Jerome
- Hagendahl, Harald. “Jerome and the Latin classics.” Vigilae Christianae 28 no 3, 1974.
- Schaff, Philip. History of the Christian Church. Volume 3.Free online: CCEL
- Sparks, H.F.D. “Jerome as biblical scholar.” Cambridge history of the Bible. Ed. P.R. Ackroyd.
John Wycliffe
- Mallard, William. “John Wyclif and the tradition of biblical authority.” Church History 30 no 1, 1961.
- Cook, William R. “John Wyclif and Hussite theology.” Church History 42 no 3, 1973.
- Jeffrey, David L. “John Wyclif and the hermeneutics of reader response.” Interpretation 39 no 3, 1985.
- Levy, Ian C. “John Wyclif: Christian patience in a time of war.” Theological Studies 66 no 2, 2005.
- Levy, Ian C. “Narrowing of Eucharistic orthodoxy: Wycliffites and their opponents.” Lexington Theological Quarterly 41 no 2, 2006.
Knights Templar
Laudianism
- Lamont, W. “The Rise of Arminianism Reconsidered.” Past and Present 107, 1985.
- Merritt, J.F. “The Cradle of Laudianism? Westminster Abbey, 1558-1630.” Journal of Ecclesiastical History 52, 2001.
- Penny, D.A. Freewill or Predestination: the Battle over Saving Grace in Mid-Tudor England.
Marriage in the Patristic Period
Medieval Eschatology
- Griffiths, Paul J. “Self-annihilation or damnation? A disputable question in Christian eschatology.” Pro Ecclesia 16 no 4, 2007.
Origen
- Schaff, Philip. Ante-Nicene Fathers. Volume 4.Free online: CCEL
- Robertson, James C. Sketches of church history, from AD 33 to the reformation.Free online: CCEL
Oxford Movement
- Matthew, H.C.G. “Edward Bouverie Pusey: from Scholar to Tractarian.” Journal of Theological Studies 32, 1981.
Patrick
- Voragine, Jacobus de. Golden legend. Volume 3.Free online: CCEL
- Neander, Augustus J. Light in dark places: or, a memorial of Christian life in the middle ages.Free online: CCEL
- Robertson, James C. Sketches of church history, from AD 33 to the reformation.Free online: CCEL
- Hull, Eleanor. Early Christian Ireland.Free online: Archive.org
Petrobrusians and Henricians
- Iogna-Prat, Dominique. Order and exclusion: Cluny and Christendom face heresy, Judaism, and Islam (1000-1150).
- John of Damascus. On Divine Images.Free online: CCEL
- Peter the Venerable. Tractatus Contra Petrobrusianos.Free online: Archive.org
- Schaff, Philip. History of the Christian Church. Volumes 5-6.Free online: CCEL (Volume 5), CCEL (Volume 6)
Puritans
- Lake, Peter. Anglicans and Puritans.
Saint Anthony of Egypt
- Athanasius. Paradise or garden of the holy fathers.Free online: CCEL (Volume 1), CCEL (Volume 2)
- McClellan, Michael. Monasticism in Egypt: images and words of the desert fathers.
- Quasden, Johannes. Patrology. Volume 3.
- Rubenson, Samuel. Letters of St. Antony: monasticism and the making of a saint.
- Schaff, Philip. History of the Christian Church. Volume 3.Free online: CCEL
- Voragine, Jacobus de. “Of the life of Saint Anthony.” Golden Legend. Volume 2.Free online: CCEL
Slavery in the Patristic Period
Waldenses
- Gonnet, Giovanni. “Influence of the sermon on the mount upon the ethics of the Waldensians of the middle ages.” Brethren Life and Thought 25 no 1, 1990.
- Root, Robert. “Waldensians.” Christian Century 64 no 38, 1947.
- Schaff, Philip. History of the Christian Church. Volume 5.Free online: CCEL
- Treesh, Susanna K. “Waldensian recourse to violence.” Church History 55 no 3, 1986.
- Zeman, Jarold K. “Restitution and dissent in the late medieval renewal movements: the Waldensians, the Hussites and the Bohemian Brethren.” Journal of the American Academy of Religion 44 no 1, 1976.
