Springfield Contact/Library Info Links
Library Information
Nursing & Health Sciences Personal Librarian
What are Databases
- Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
- Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.
(Ruth Szpunar at DePauw University)
Search Multiple Databases
Tutorials on Searching Databases
- CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching TutorialThis tutorial demonstrates the basic searching features of the suite of CINAHL databases on EBSCOhost.
- CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching TutorialThis tutorial demonstrates the advanced searching features of the suite of CINAHL databases on EBSCOhost.
- SBU Libraries Research Strategies and Nursing Literature ReviewInformation from the SBU Libraries on researching a nursing literature review for students in course NUR 4333.
- SBU Libraries Evaluating ArticlesThis tutorial covers how to evaluate articles you have found through the library website to see if they will work for your research paper or project.
- PubMed for Librarians: IntroductionLearn about the difference between PubMed and MEDLINE, how to run a basic PubMed search, how to assess your search results, where to find search details, how to customize PubMed with My NCBI, and different ways to search for a known citation. We also briefly introduce Medical subject headings (MeSH), automatic term mapping, search tags and subheadings.
Recommended Research Article Databases
- CINAHL CompleteCINAHL Complete is a library database that provides full-text access to over 1,300 journals in nursing and allied health from 1982 to present. If you're looking for peer-reviewed nursing research articles, this database is one of the best sources.
Check out the Quick Lessons (under the More tab at the top of the search page) for overviews on concepts and conditions.