Springfield Contact/Library Info Links
Library Information
Nursing & Health Sciences Personal Librarian
Recommended Websites for Consumer Health Information
These websites provide free, reliable health information to consumers and healthcare professionals. Use these to further your own knowledge or to help educate patients and family members and encourage wellness and health promotion.
- HealthFinder.govhealthfinder.gov has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations to provide reliable, online health information.
- MedlinePlusProduced by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus has information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in easy-to-understand language. You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations.
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionThe CDC provides abundant information on current health news and travel-related health alerts.
- National Institutes of Health: Health InformationThe NIH provides health information on diseases and wellness in booklets, handouts, and easy-to-follow webpages.
- DailyMedDailyMed provides standard, comprehensive, and up-to-date information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts).
- Food and Drug AdministrationThe FDA provides health and safety information related to food, drugs, medical devices, and other products for consumers, patients, and health professionals.
- ChooseMyPlate.govThe USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion provides dietary guidance and research information to improve the nutrition and well-being of Americans.
- Health and Human Services: AgingThe U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services provides information on healthy aging behaviors, caregiver resources, elder justice, and other resources for senior adults.
- WomensHealth.govThe Office on Women's Health provides national leadership and coordination to improve the health of women and girls through policy, education and model programs.
- MedlinePlus: Men's HealthInformation and resources for men's health and wellness.
- Missouri Health and Senior ServicesThe MO Dept. of Health and Senior Services provides information for seniors, families, and health care providers in Missouri.
- Missouri Public HealthMO.gov offers public health information on disease control, food and product safety, and local public health agencies.
Additional Health Information Websites for Nurses
- MedscapeMedscape offers health professionals online medical information, including current news, and educational tools.
- The Medicare Learning Network (MLN)Free educational materials for health care professionals on Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) programs, policies, and initiatives.
Best Websites for Consumer Health Information
These websites provide free, reliable health information to consumers and healthcare professionals. Use these to further your own knowledge or to help educate patients and family members and encourage wellness and health promotion.
- Medline PlusProduced by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus has information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in easy-to-understand language. You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations.
- DailyMedDailyMed provides standard, comprehensive, and up-to-date information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts). This website from the National Library of Medicine is made freely available for health information providers and the public.
- Health Finderhealthfinder.gov has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations to provide reliable, online health information.
- Skin SightSkinsight is a consumer-focused Web site developed by VisualDx. It provides quality health images to consumers, allowing you to look up images of skin conditions by name or by body location.
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionThe CDC provides abundant information on current health news and travel-related health alerts.
- World Health OrganizationThe WHO is the public health arm of the United Nations. It monitors disease outbreaks, assesses health systems, and provides international data on health and disease topics.
- National Institutes of Health: Health InformationThe NIH provides health information on diseases and wellness in booklets, handouts, and easy-to-follow webpages.
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services--Consumer Information & Insurance OversightThe Center for Consumer Information and Insurance Oversight (CCIIO) is charged with helping implement many reforms of the Affordable Care Act. CCIIO oversees the implementation of the provisions related to private health insurance.