It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SBU University Libraries may be able to acquire a dissertation from another library in the U.S. on your behalf. Many times scholars will publish a piece of their dissertation as an abbreviated article in a journal. Dissertations typically consist of firsthand research accounts, and can be a great addition to a literature review.
This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
This website provides access to information about graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Information about the theses comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,220,740 theses and dissertations.
Literature reviews require a great deal of time and effort, but they increase your credibility among peers in the field when it comes to their review of your research proposal and the study(ies) that ensue as a result. Essentially, literature reviews examine contributions to an area of study, providing a backdrop for the present research that exists on a topic. Here are some things to keep in mind when doing a literature review...
Look for examples of literature reviews in your field.
The best place to get started when you're doing a literature review for communication studies is a library subscription database.
In summarizing your primary focus for the proposal/study, what are 3-5 keywords you might choose? Use these as keywords when doing your search for articles.
Limit your database searches to peer-reviewed articles, which typically involve original research.
Consult the bibliography, or list of works cited at the end of each article you read. This will help you find additional research related to your proposal/study.
Contact your instructor for specific assignment questions.
Contact your Personal Librarian--Rachel Wallenbeck--for anything else related to your research.