Foamsmith : how to create foam armor costumes
"Foamsmith" helps you create stunning, comfortable pieces of costume armor as painlessly and cheaply as possible.
Foamsmith 2: how to forge foam weapons
Foamsmith 2 empowers you to create impressive, light-weight, durable foam weapon props.
The Costume Making Guide
Bring your cosplay dreams to life with your own two hands! The Best Cosplay Tutorial Guide Ever! Get ready to impress ordinary mortals with your superhuman costume-making skills. You can do it no matter what your experience level with this, the first full step-by-step technique book on cosplay--with no sewing! Internationally known cosplayer Kamui Cosplay (a.k.a. Svetlana Quindt) shows you how to easily create elaborate costumes and successful props out of items available at your local arts and craft or hardware stores: turn foam into a realistic axe, create a breastplate from scratch and use a glue gun to modify just about anything.
Tall Man in Green Arrow Costume - Hutchens Library, SBU, 2017
1,000 Incredible Costume and Cosplay Ideas
1,000 Incredible Costume and Cosplay Ideas provides a broad and detailed glimpse into the ingenious artistry and attention to detail behind some of the most fabulous costumes you can find.
Cosplay Enthusiast in Dalek Costume - Hutchens Library, SBU, 2016
The Steampunk User's Manual
"Steampunk, the retro-futuristic cultural movement, has become a substantial and permanent genre in the worlds of fantasy and science fiction. A large part of its appeal is that, at its core, Steampunk is about doing it yourself: building on the past while also innovating and creating something original. VanderMeer's latest book offers practical and inspirational guidance for readers to find their individual path into this realm. Including sections on art, fashion, architecture, crafts, music, performance, and storytelling,"--catalog description.
Woman in Steampunk Costume - Hutchens Library, SBU, 2017
Props and Costume Armor
!In this book, master prop maker Shawn Thorsson uses his unique blend of humor and insight to turn years of painful experience into detailed explanations. He'll show you many of the tools, methods, and processes that you can use to create professional-looking science fiction and fantasy props and armor. The ultimate collision of creative imagination and practical maker skills, making props and costume armor involves sculpting, molding, casting, 3D printing, CNC fabrication, painting, and countless other techniques and technologies.In this book, you'll learn: Basic fabrication methods using inexpensive, commonly-available tools and materials.
Stage and Screen Makeup
Create looks from ancient times to modern times–step by detailed step.Capture the authentic looks of the past with Stage and Screen Makeup, the complete step-by-step guide to designing makeup for time periods from the ancient past to the recent past to the sci-fi future.
Students with Foam Weapons for Larping - Hutchens Library, SBU, 2017
Woman in Dalek Costume - Hutchens Library, SBU, 2016
Sewing for fashion designers
SBU: Unlimited user e-book access. This comprehensive guide explores the fundamental sewing methods needed for professional garment construction.
The Hero's Closet: Sewing for Cosplay and Costuming
Cosplayers rejoice! The Hero's Closetis the ultimate DIY guide to creating unique and fantastical homemade costumes This essential handbook offers detailed, step-by-step instructions that cover the basics of sewing costumes (which often require skills not found in standard sewing guides) to help even the most novice sewists create the costumes of their dreams.
Revan's Mask
This 3D printed mask was made by Daniel Letner,President of the SBU Physics & Engineering club. The final print took around 2 days to print. He was able to get most of the painting done and the strap attached in around 3 hours, the rest he finished the next day in about 2 hours, for a grand total of 5 hours of painting.
Revan's Mask (back view)
This 3D printed mask was made by Daniel Letner, President of the SBU Physics & Engineering club. The final print took around 2 days to print. He was able to get most of the painting done and the strap attached in around 3 hours, the rest he finished the next day in about 2 hours, for a grand total of 5 hours of painting.
Ravan's Mask (front view, painted)
This 3D printed mask was made by Daniel Letner, President of the SBU Physics & Engineering club. The final print took around 2 days to print. He was able to get most of the painting done and the strap attached in around 3 hours, the rest he finished the next day in about 2 hours, for a grand total of 5 hours of painting.
The Merriam-Webster dictionary defines cosplay as "the activity or practice of dressing up as a character from a work of fiction (such as a comic book, video game, or television show)" The origins of cosplay are discussed here: http://www.strangelandcostumes.com/history.html
LARP is an acronym for Live Action Roleplay. According to the online Collins English dictionary, LARPing is "a type of role playing game in which each participant assumes a particular character and acts out various scenerios at events which liast for a predetermined time."
The online Collins English dictionary defines steampunk as: "1. a genre of science fiction that combines futuristic elements with a quasi-Victorian setting."
- Punished PropsPunished Props website, by Bill and Brittany Doran. The Dorans are a prop and costume making husband and wife team from Seattle.
- Free BlueprintsFree blueprints courtesy of Punished Props
- SBU Fencing Club (Facebook page - also includes LARPing information)The Facebook page of the Southwest Baptist University Fencing Club. Some members of the Fencing Club also participate in LARPing (Live Action Role-Play)
- Springfield CosplayTwitter account for Springfield Cosplay
Swashbuckling: a step-by-step guide to the art of stage combat and theatrical swordplay by Call Number: SBU BOL Book 792.028 L244ISBN: 9780879100919Publication Date: 2004-08-01
Stage fighting: a practical guide by Call Number: SBU BOL Book 792.028 H839ISBN: 9781847970466Publication Date: 2009-05-01
- Stage fight director
This link opens in a new window
"Actors don't usually arrive onstage knowing how to perform fake fights. This video follows master combat choreographer David Boushey through several weeks of rehearsals for a rousing production of Romeo and Juliet at the Tony Award winning Utah Shakespearean Festival. It highlights how he and his actors turn the printed text into the thrill of theater." -- Films on Demand - Reclaiming the blade: sword martial arts for stage and screen
- This link opens in a new window
This documentary explores both European and Asian historic swordplay and offers an in-depth look at the fascinating world of stage combat on the silver screen. It includes a long overdue tribute to Bob Anderson who has trained countless Hollywood actors and choreographed many popular movie scenes featuring the sword. From the swashbuckling of Errol Flynn and Johnny Depp to Sean Connery's knightly duels, Anderson has worked with top film talent for more than 50 years. Cloaked in the Darth Vader costume, Anderson choreographed and performed all the lightsaber duels with Mark Hamill in George Lucas' Star Wars trilogy. - Beginners Swordplay for Stage and Screen
- This link opens in a new window
Instructors teach students the industry standard French numeric system that nearly every sword choreographer uses to create their fights. Using single-handed weapons, this number system will allow students to quickly and easily create a vocabulary to get ready for performance. This system includes strikes and parries that can be altered and stylized to look European, Asian, or alien depending on the creativity. They also teach the swipe to the head, how to kill an opponent in such a way that the audience cringes, and how to do all of this safely while selling it to the camera. Includes several pre-choreographed fights that demonstrate how all of these techniques work into a full-speed battle. - Intermediate: tricks and terrorThis program teaches students how to fight with two-handed swords and weapons along with basic and intermediate martial arts kicks and punches. There are more advanced moves, strikes, additions to the numbering system, brutal hand-to-hand moves, and several fights that will keep your audience enthralled.
- Advanced : Multiple Weapons and Opponents
- This link opens in a new window
Learn how to apply the French numbering system to weapons including: rapier, dagger, lightsaber, cutlass, and more. This program teaches more advanced moves, martial arts hand-to-hand, blistering demo fights with multiple opponents, and an entire explanation of spacing, timing, and the miracle of shooting multiple opponent action with a camera.
1,000 Incredible Costume and Cosplay Ideas by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781592536986Publication Date: 2013-05-01- Foamsmith : how to create foam armor costumes by Call Number: 792.025 D726 v.01ISBN: 9780692388969Publication Date: 2014
The Hero's Closet: Sewing for Cosplay and Costuming by Call Number: 646.478 C741ISBN: 9781419723964Publication Date: 2017-04-18
A Guide to Film and TV Cosplay by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781526775641Publication Date: 2021-09-30
- A Beginner’s Guide to Making Mind Blowing Props by Bill Doran
This title courtesy of Bill Doran, Bill Doran is a prop and costume maker, owner of Punished Props, and the author of Foamsmith: How to Create Foam Armor Costumes. - Props and Scale ModelsPunished Props
- How To - Make ANY PROP or COSTUME! 500+ Free Tutorials
This link opens in a new window
A Punished Props youtube playlist - Vacuum FormingPunished Props
- 3D Printer for Cosplay – What to Consider & Which to ChooseALL3DP, by Brian Obudho, Aug. 23, 2018
- 3D Printing Props and CostumesA Punished Props webpage
- Props & CosplayMyMiniFactory 3d printable props
- Foamsmith 2: how to forge foam weapons by Call Number: 792.025 D726ISBN: 9780692655023Publication Date: 2016
Stage and Screen Makeup by Call Number: SBU BOL 792.027 Sp33ISBN: 9780823084968Publication Date: 2009-02-03
Stage and Screen Hairstyles by Call Number: SBU BOL 792.027 Sp33hISBN: 0823084973Publication Date: 2009-02-03
How to Draw Steampunk : Discover the Secrets to Drawing, Painting, and Illustrating the Curious World of Science Fiction in the Victorian Age by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781939581273Publication Date: 2014
Cult Media, Fandom, and Textiles by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781474215169Publication Date: 2016-11-17
- Comic-Con Considerations: Cosplay, the Right of Publicity, and Copyright ConcernsIPWatchDog.com, By Amanda Bacoyanis 7/31/2015