What Does It Mean? Active, Erupting, Dormant, Extinct
"Not all volcanoes erupt and not all eruptions are explosive. Volcanologists label volcanoes active, dormant and extinct, depending on the likelihood of an eruption occurring. Volcanoes that will never erupt again are considered extinct. Active volcanoes come in two classes -- volcanoes which are active, either erupting now or having recently erupted and dormant volcanoes, volcanoes which are currently quiet but are expected to erupt in the future. About sixty volcanoes are actively erupting each year." -- https://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/hazard/stratoguide/intro.html
- Difference Between an Active, Dormant, and Extinct VolcanoWorld Atlas, By Amber Pariona on September 19 2019
- Alphabetical list of active volcanoes in the worldAn alphabetical list of volcanoes from Volcano Discovery that purports to include all known active volcanoes in the world.
- ASTER Volcano Archive (AVA)From the website: "The ASTER Volcano Archive (AVA) is the worlds largest specialty archive of volcano data. For 1,546 recently active volcanos listed by the Smithsonian Global Volcanism Program, the AVA has collected the entirety of high-resolution multispectral ASTER data and made it available to the public. Also included are digital elevation maps, NOAA ash advisories, alteration zone imagery, and thermal anomaly reports."
- Can volcanoes form just anywhere? Why do they form where they do?Oregon State University, Volcano World
- EPOS: European Plate Observing SystemEpos Secretariat, Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia, Via di Vigna Murata 605 00143 Rome, Italy
- Historical Unrest at Large Calderas of the WorldU. S. Geological Survey Bulletin 1855
- How Big are Eruptions?Oregon State University, Volcano World
- Principal Types of Volcanoes
USGS, Maintained by John Watson - Savage Earth - Out of the Inferno - VolcanoesA web resource page from PBS
- The Significant Volcanic Eruption DatabaseA NOAA resource. "The Significant Volcanic Eruption Database is a global listing of over 500 significant eruptions which includes information on the latitude, longitude, elevation, type of volcano, and last known eruption. A significant eruption is classified as one that meets at least one of the following criteria: caused fatalities, caused moderate damage (approximately $1 million or more), with a Volcanic Explosivity Index (VEI) of 6 or larger, caused a tsunami, or was associated with a major earthquake."-- database page
- Stromboli OnlineFrom the website: "The primary goal of our project is to enrich and stimulate the teaching of Earth Sciences by presenting images, movies, data, virtual field trips and other educational material in relation to volcanoes."
- Types of VolcanoesVolcanoWorld, an Oregon State University resource
Discusses: Shield Volcanoes; Stratovolcanoes; Rhyolite caldera complexes; Monogenetic fields; Flood Basalts; Mid-ocean ridges - USGS Volcanic Activity Alert-Notification SystemExplains the four volcano alert terms: Normal, Advisory, Watch, and Warning
- Volcanic Explosivity Index (VEI)
Geology.com. Includes a graphic showing the comparative size of some well known volcanic eruptions, from Mt. St. Helens (VEI 4) to Wah Wah Springs (VEI 8). - VHP Photo Glossary: VEI (Volcanic Explosivity Index)An USGS resource
- VolcanoDiscovery.comA commercial website by Dr. Tom Pfeiffer
- Volcano Hazards Program FAQsUSGS, 2011
- What are the Different Types of Volcanoes?UniverseToday, by Fraser Cain, Article Updated: 16 Oct , 2016
- What is a Supervolcano?The PLUTONS Project is funded by the National Science Foundation Continental Dynamics Program and the Natural Environment Research Council.
- What is a volcano?Richard Smith, David J. Lowe and Ian Wright. 'Volcanoes - What is a volcano?', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, updated 13-Jul-12
URL: http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/en/volcanoes/page-1 - Pūhāhonu: Earth's biggest and hottest shield volcanoEarth and Planetary Science letters, v.642, July 15, 2020, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.epsl.2020.116296
- Tamu Massif no longer biggest volcanoCosmos, Nick Carne, July 9, 2019
- Which Volcano is the World's Largest?A Geology.com (commercial website) resource. Note that the volcano previously known as Tamu Massif is now officially known as Tamu Plateau (United States Board on Geographic Names
Annual Report To the Secretary of the Interior Fiscal Year 2014 Standardizing Geographic Names for the Federal Government Since 1890). As of 5/2020, the Tamu Plateau volcano is no longer considered to be the largest shield volcano in the world. Pūhāhonu is now considered to be the world's biggest shield volcano.
- The Significant Volcanic Eruption DatabaseA NOAA resource. "The Significant Volcanic Eruption Database is a global listing of over 500 significant eruptions which includes information on the latitude, longitude, elevation, type of volcano, and last known eruption. A significant eruption is classified as one that meets at least one of the following criteria: caused fatalities, caused moderate damage (approximately $1 million or more), with a Volcanic Explosivity Index (VEI) of 6 or larger, caused a tsunami, or was associated with a major earthquake."-- database page
- Eruption StylesOregon State University, Volcano World
- Eruption TypesHow Volcanoes Work, The site is sponsored by NASA under the auspices of Project ALERT (Augmented Learning Environment and Renewable Teaching)
- Types of Volcanic Eruptions (Geology.com)A Geology.com (commercial website) article by Jessica Ball
- Six types of eruptionsContributors: Robert W. Decker and Barbara B. Decker
Encyclopædia Britannica Date September 26, 2016 - Fissure eruptionsDepartment of Geological Sciences, San Diego State University.
- Glossary: Hawaiian EruptionImperial College (London) Rock Library
- Glossary: Pelean EruptionImperial College (London) Rock Library
- Glossary: Phreatic EruptionImperial College (London) Rock Library
- Glossary: Phreatomagmatic EruptionImperial College (London) Rock Library
- Glossary: Plinian EruptionImperial College (London) Rock Library
- Glossary: Pyroclastic RockImperial College (London) Rock Library
- Glossary: Pyroclastic SurgeImperial College (London) Rock Library
- Glossary: Strombolian EruptionImperial College (London) Rock Library
- Glossary: Surtseyan EruptionImperial College (London) Rock Library
- Glossary: Volcanic EruptionImperial College (London) Rock Library
- Glossary: Vulcanian EruptionImperial College (London) Rock Library
- CalderaA National Geographic resource library definition
- CalderasA How Volcanoes Work resource
- Crater (National Geographic Society encyclopedic entry)A National Geographic Society resource
- CratersGlobal Volcanism Program, Department of Mineral Sciences, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution © 2013
- Rhyolite caldera complexesAn Oregon State University resource
- What is a Caldera? How Do Calderas Form?A Geology.com (commercial website) resource
- Chemistry of Kilauea and Mauna Loa Lava in Space and TimeBy Thomas L. Wright, GEOLOGICAL SURVEY PROFESSIONAL PAPER 735 Published 1971
- Corn Syrup Experiment Mimics Yellowstone Magma PlumeCharles Q. Choi, OurAmazingPlanet Contributor, April 25, 2013
- Flood basaltsOregon State Volcano World
- How do you stop the flow of lava?By Taylor Kate Brown BBC News, Washington, 11 September 2014
- How Volcanoes Work: Lava Flow TypesThis website is an educational resource that describes the science behind volcanoes and volcanic processes. The site is sponsored by NASA under the auspices of Project ALERT. This website was constructed by Dr. Vic Camp, Department of Geological Sciences, San Diego State University.
- Idaho, Home of the BatholithIdaho Public Television
- Lava FlowsMichigan Tech University, Text by C.M. Riley, Photos by C.M. Riley
- MagmaNational Geographic Society Encyclopedia entry
- Magma, Lava, Lava Flows, Lava Lakes, etc.USGS/Cascades Volcano Observatory, Vancouver, Washington
- Magma stored under volcanoes is mostly solidScienceNews.org, By Maria Temming, June 15, 2017
- Magma's Role in the Rock CycleNational Geographic Classroom Resources (grades 7-12+)
- Mixing Magmas at KrakatauHawaiian Volcano Observatory, Volcano Watch, May 22, 2003
- Nature of BatholithsBy Warren Hamilton and W. Bradley Myers, Shorter Contributions to General Geology, Geological Survey Professional Paper 554-C (1967). This contains information about St. Francois Mountains, MO
- Types of Igneous RocksAn USGS Volcanic Hazards Program resource
- Under Active Volcanoes, Magma Sits in Cold StorageLiveScience, Becky Oskin, February 16, 2014
- Volcanic Lava Flows and Pyroclastic MaterialsStudy material from Richard Harwood's Physical Geology 101 class at Black Hawk College.
- Volcanoes and Volcanic EruptionsLecture notes for Tulane University, Earth & Environmental Sciences 1110, Physical Geology
Spring 2012, Professor Stephen A. Nelson Page describes different types of magmas and lava. - Why are Mount St. Helens' eruptions generally more explosive than those of Kilauea?Hawaiian Volcano Observatory, Volcano Watch, March 20, 2003
- Ash (USGS Volcano Hazards Program Glossary)(USGS Volcano Hazards Program Glossary)
- Geochronology of Plutonic Rocks and their Tectonic Terranes in Glacier Bay National Park and Preserve, Southeast AlaskaBrew, D.A., Tellier, K., Lanphere, M.A., Nielsen, D.C., Smith, J.G., and Sonnevil, R.A., 2014, Geochronology of plutonic rocks and their tectonic terranes in Glacier Bay National Park and
Preserve, southeast Alaska in Dumoulin, J.A., and Galloway, J.P., eds., Studies by the U.S. Geological Survey in Alaska, 2008–2009: U.S. Geological Survey Professional Paper 1776–E, 18 p., http://dx.doi.org/10.3133/pp1776E - Geologic units containing rhyoliteUSGS resource. Rhyolite is a volcanic rock
- Igneous Rocks Pictures of Intrusive and Extrusive Igneous Rock TypesA Geology.com (commercial website) resource
- Plutonic or Intrusive Igneous Rocks The Varieties of Plutons/IntrusionsGEOLOGY 1121 -- PHYSICAL GEOLOGY, Burt Carter,
Department of Geology and Physics, Georgia Southwestern State University - Rocks: Igneous, Metamorphic and SedimentaryA commercial website, this contains images of rocks
- Volcanic AshUSGS Volcanic Ashfall Impacts Working Group, Page modified: 2016-01-25 20:26:09
- Volcanic Ash (National Geographic Society Encyclopedia entry)National Geographic Society
- Volcanic Ash Advisory CentersNOAA The Office of Satellite Products and Operations (OSPO)
- Volcanic Ash Impacts Around the World (streaming video)Duration: 1 hour, 6 minutes, 56 seconds
Date Created: 2015-06-09 Credit: Hawai‘i Volcanoes National Park - Volcanic DikeVolcano Discovery glossary entry
- Glossary: Pyroclastic FlowImperial College (London) Rock Library
- Glossary: Pyroclastic RockImperial College (London) Rock Library
- Glossary: Pyroclastic SurgeImperial College (London) Rock Library
- How Volcanoes Work - LaharsThis website is an educational resource that describes the science behind volcanoes and volcanic processes. The site is sponsored by NASA under the auspices of Project ALERT (Augmented Learning Environment and Renewable Teaching). It is intended for the education of university students of geology and volcanology and teachers of earth science. his website was constructed by Dr. Vic Camp), Department of Geological Sciences, San Diego State University.
- How Volcanoes Work - Pyroclastic FlowsThis website is an educational resource that describes the science behind volcanoes and volcanic processes. The site is sponsored by NASA under the auspices of Project ALERT (Augmented Learning Environment and Renewable Teaching). It is intended for the education of university students of geology and volcanology and teachers of earth science. his website was constructed by Dr. Vic Camp), Department of Geological Sciences, San Diego State University.
- How Volcanoes Work - Tephra and Pyroclastic RocksThis website is an educational resource that describes the science behind volcanoes and volcanic processes. The site is sponsored by NASA under the auspices of Project ALERT (Augmented Learning Environment and Renewable Teaching). It is intended for the education of university students of geology and volcanology and teachers of earth science. his website was constructed by Dr. Vic Camp), Department of Geological Sciences, San Diego State University.
- LaharsThis website is designed for educational purposes by Professor Emeritus Richard V. Fisher at UCSB, and is maintained by volunteers. The purpose of the Volcano Information Center (VIC) is to provide links to websites that are resources for data not contained in VIC and to inform the user about general volcanology in an organized way, including features of volcanoes, volcanic eruptions and volcanic hazards. This page is brought to you from the University of California at Santa Barbara, Department of Geological Sciences
by Richard V. Fisher. - Lahars (mud flows)Global Volcanism Program, Department of Mineral Sciences, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution.
- Lahars and Their EffectsAn USGS Volcano Hazards Program resource
- Pyroclastic FlowsUniversity of California at Santa Barbara by Richard V. Fisher.
- Pyroclastic Flows and SurgesPowerpoint slides from the Five College Volcanology,2014 course, University of Mass., INSTRUCTOR: J. M. Rhodes
- USGS debris flow Hume at H. J. Andrews Experimental ForestBy William R. Burns, Oregon Dept. of Geology and Mineral Industries. Oregon Geology, vol.67, no. 1, Fall 2006
- VHP Photo Glossary: blockAn USGS Volcanic Hazards Program resource. Photograph by C. Heliker on January 26, 1988
- VHP Photo Glossary: bombAn USGS Volcanic Hazards Program resource. Photograph by J.P. Lockwood on July 10, 1982.
- VHP Photo Glossary: Breadcrust BombAn USGS Volcanic Hazards Program resource. Photograph by D.W. Wieprecht in March 1997
- Video Documentation of Experiments at the USGS Debris-Flow Flume 1992–2006 (amended to include 2007–2013)U.S. Geological Survey Open-File Report 2007–1315, v. 1.3. By Matthew Logan and Richard M. Iverson, 2007, revised 2013
- Volcanic BombsUniverse Today, by Fraser Cain on September 9, 2009
- VOLCANIC DEBRIS-FLOW AVALANCHESVolcano Information Center, University of California at Santa Barbara, Department of Geological Sciences. by Richard V. Fisher.
- Volcanic LandslidesGlobal Volcanism Program, Department of Mineral Sciences, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution.
- Volcanic Lava Flows and Pyroclastic MaterialsStudy material from Richard Harwood's Physical Geology 101 class at Black Hawk College.
- Corn Syrup Experiment Mimics Yellowstone Magma PlumeCharles Q. Choi, OurAmazingPlanet Contributor, April 25, 2013
- East Coast mantle hotspot could explain massive Missouri quakesars technica article by Scott K. Johnson - Sept 18 2013
- Hotspots: Mantle thermal plumes (This Dynamic Earth)USGS, last updated: 05.05.99 "Authors' Note: Since this booklet's publication in 1996, vigorous scientific debate has ensued regarding volcanism at "hotspots." New studies suggest that hotspots are neither deep phenomena nor "fixed" in position over geologic time, as assumed in the popular plume model. See http://www.mantleplumes.org/."
- IRIS - what is a hot spot?IRIS (Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology)
- MantlePlumes.OrgFrom the website: "The debate about whether plumes exist or not, and what other mechanisms could cause melting anomalies became increasingly popularised in late 2002 and early 2003, as observations conflicting with the plume hypothesis, or unexpectedly failing to confirm it, reached proportions that could no longer be ignored. Journalists began to take notice and write popular articles about the controversy. However, there was almost nothing on the world wide web about the subject. Thus, www.mantleplumes.org was born in March 2003. Since then many scientists have contributed, and many web pages on specific topics have been placed online. The growing site resides on a server at University of Durham, U.K. It is managed and maintained by Gillian R. Foulger. A deputy website manager, appointed on a two-year basis, assists decision-making processes, and we consult with the large group of colleagues who have contributed pages."
- Seismic data reveal 'hotspot' passed under United States 2011 Virginia earthquake points to scars from ancient mantle plumeNature: International Weekly Journal of Science, article by Sid Perkins, 15 September 2013
- Textbook theory behind volcanoes may be wrongScienceDaily.com Date:September 8, 2014
Source: California Institute of Technology
Summary:In the typical textbook picture, volcanoes, such as those that are forming the Hawaiian islands, erupt when magma gushes out as narrow jets from deep inside Earth. But that picture is wrong, according to a new study from researchers who conclude that seismology data are now confirming that such narrow jets don't actually exist. - What is a Hot Spot?Oregon Space Grant Consortium, administered through the Department of Geosciences at Oregon State University
For additional information on volcanic gases, see the Volcanic Lakes box on the Seamounts, Volcanic Lakes, Extra-Terrestrial Volcanoes page.
- Can Volcanic Gas Levels Predict an Eruption?Branscombe, A. (2017), Can volcanic gas levels predict an eruption?, Eos, 98, https://doi.org/10.1029/2017EO074949. Published on 12 June 2017.
- Carbon Dioxide Discharge from Mammoth MountainU.S. Department of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, Menlo Park, California, USA
- Death by volcano? (carbon dioxide and sulfate aerosols)The Source, Washington University in St. Louis, By Diana Lutz May 29, 2017
- EarthWord: FumaroleUSGS, Release Date: October 5, 2015
- EFFECTS OF VOLCANIC GASESThis page is brought to you from University of California at Santa Barbara, Department of Geological Sciences. by Richard V. Fisher.
- FumaroleUSGS Volcano Hazards Program glossary
- Fumaroles - Yellowstone National Park (U.S. National Park Service)U.S. National Park Service
- How Volcanoes Work - Volcanic GasesThis website is an educational resource that describes the science behind volcanoes and volcanic processes. The site is sponsored by NASA under the auspices of Project ALERT (Augmented Learning Environment and Renewable Teaching). It is intended for the education of university students of geology and volcanology and teachers of earth science. This website was constructed by Dr. Vic Camp, Department of Geological Sciences, San Diego State University.
- Ijen volcanoVolcano Discovery
- Invisible CO2 Gas Killing Trees at Mammoth Mountain, CaliforniaU.S. Geological Survey Fact Sheet 172-96 Online Version 2.0
- Poison Gas Kills Five Bison in YellowstonePosted: Tuesday, March 23, 2004 By SCOTT McMILLION, Bozeman Daily Chronicle Staff Writer
- Rare Combination of Events Cause Bison DeathsArticle in Yellowstone Science, v.12, no.2, Spring 2004, p. 2-3.
- Squeak! Ancient Helium Escaping from YellowstoneLivescience, By Becky Oskin, Staff Writer, February 19, 2014
- Stunning Electric-Blue Flames Erupt From VolcanoesBy Brian Clark Howard, National Geographic, published January 30, 2014
- Volcanic GasesMichigan Technological University. Text by C.M. Riley, Photo courtesy of the U.S. Geological Survey at CVO
- Volcanic GasesAn Oregon State University Volcano World resource.
- Volcanic Gases and Their EffectsAn USGS Volcanic Hazards Program resource
- Volcano in Iceland Is One of the Largest Sources of Volcanic CO2EOS Earth & Space Science News
- Eruptions Give Up Secrets of Volcanic Lightning StormsScience on NBC News.com ; by Charles Q. Choi
- In Indonesia, A Lightning Storm Illuminates An Erupting VolcanoMatthew Tucker, BuzzFeed Staff, posted on February 17, 2014
- New studies uncover mysterious processes that generate volcanic lightningAGU (American Geophysical Union) Blogosphere, 04/12/2016 By Lauren Lipuma
- Why Volcanic Eruptions Can Spark LightningBy Alexandra Witze, Science News, April 12, 2010
- Krakatau Volcano Volcanic Lightning and Showers of Glowing Bombs
This link opens in a new window
Youtube, Photovolcanica, Published on Oct 28, 2018 - CSAV Hawaii: Volcanic Eruption with Lightning
- This link opens in a new window
Video shot & edited by UHH Center for the Study of Active Volcanoes (CSAV)
- Flood BasaltScience Direct
- Flood basaltWikipedia
- How do volcanic eruptions generate tsunamis?International Tsunami Information Center, A UNESCO/IOC-NOAA Partnership
- Volcanic TsunamisVolcano World, Oregon State University
- What Triggered Tsunamis that Demolished Bronze-Age Civilization? (Santorini)LiveScience,by Kacey Deamer, Staff Writer, November 8, 2016
- Krakatau, Indonesia (1883)From the website How Volcanoes Work sponsored by NASA, this website was constructed by Dr. Vic Camp (copyright), Department of Geological Sciences, San Diego State University.
- Post-eruptive flooding of Santorini caldera and implications for tsunami generationNature Communications 7, Article number: 13332 (2016) doi:10.1038/ncomms13332