Contact/Library Info Links
Library Information
Contact Us
What are Databases
- Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
- Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.
(Ruth Szpunar at DePauw University)
Search Multiple Databases
Recommended Databases
- CINAHL CompleteThis database is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals. It is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsThis database contains full-text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. It includes evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
- PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence DatabaseThis is a free database of over 38,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible.
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine CollectionCovers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. This database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
- Primal Pictures Anatomy PALMsThis resource includes 3D graphics of human anatomy, providing a detailed insight into the structure of the human body by region and system in a user-friendly and intuitive interface.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextA comprehensive source for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 of the most popular, up-to-date journals indexed.
Instructions for opening the Primal Picture Anatomy PALMs:
- Click on link or open from database list
- If you get the purple OpenAthens screen, log in with your SBU credentials
- Click "Open Anatomy.tv" button
- On the Welcome tab, scroll to the bottom and select Perceptual and Adaptive Learning Modules (PALMs)
- The Assessment PALMs should open under the titles tab - click to open
- A login screen will appear. If this is your first time logging into PALMs, click signup, using your SBU email to create an account. If you are returning, login using the credentials you used to create an account.
Tutorials on Searching Databases
- CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching TutorialThis tutorial demonstrates the basic searching features of the suite of CINAHL databases on EBSCOhost.
- CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching TutorialThis tutorial demonstrates the advanced searching features of the suite of CINAHL databases on EBSCOhost.
- SBU Libraries Research Strategies and Nursing Literature ReviewInformation from the SBU Libraries on researching a nursing literature review for students in course NUR 4333.
- SBU Libraries Evaluating ArticlesThis tutorial covers how to evaluate articles you have found through the library website to see if they will work for your research paper or project.
- PubMed for Librarians: IntroductionLearn about the difference between PubMed and MEDLINE, how to run a basic PubMed search, how to assess your search results, where to find search details, how to customize PubMed with My NCBI, and different ways to search for a known citation. We also briefly introduce Medical subject headings (MeSH), automatic term mapping, search tags and subheadings.