This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Style Guide

Citations for Common Health Sciences Sources

A book: 

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle. Location: Publisher.

Example: 

American Psychological Association. (2009). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.). Washington,

         D.C.: American Psychological Association.

A drug from Micromedex: 

Brand name of drug (commercial name). (Year, month). In Name of the tool or tab used for search. [Electronic version].

         Retrieved from Micromedex Health Care Series, SBU Libraries edition.

Example:

Advil (Ibuprofen) tablets. (2015, January). In Drug ID. [Electronic version]. Retrieved from Micromedex Health Care Series,

         SBU Libraries edition.

An image from an academic image database: 

Corporation Name. (Year). Name of Specific Image. Retrieved from Name of Image Database. 

Example: 

Amirsys, Inc. (2015). Hypereosinophilic Syndrome Fig. 4. Retrieved from Amirsys Imaging Reference Center.

A patient care sheet from CareNotes:

Entry or condition: Type of notes used (language). (n.d.). Retrieved Month Day, Year, from Micromedex CareNotes System, SBU

        Libraries edition.

Example:

Influenza: Inpatient care (English). (n.d.). Retrieved November 30, 2015, from Micromedex CareNotes System, SBU Libraries

        edition.

A document from an website:

Author, A. (date). Title of document. Retrieved from: http://URL

Example (document with an author):

Ericksen, K. (2015, September 28). 8 reasons why a nurse is not 'just a nurse.' Retrieved from: 

          http://www.rasmussen.edu/degrees/nursing/blog/not-just-a-nurse/

Example (organization as the author):

Southwest Baptist University. (n.d.). Bachelor of science in health sciences. Retrieved from: http://mercy.sbuniv.edu/bhs.html

An article from a government web site:

Author, A. & Author, B. (date). Title of document. Retrieved from Full Organization Name website: http://URL

Example: 

Oscar-Berman, M. & Marinkovic, K. Alcoholism and the brain: An overview. Retrieved from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse

          and Alcoholism, National Institutes of Health website: http://pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/arh27-2/125-133.htm

A government report:

U.S. Government Office Name. (date). Title of report. (Publication. No.) Retrieved from: http://URL

Example: 

U.S. Government Accountability Office. (2012, June). Employment for people with disabilities: Little Is known about the

          effectiveness of fragmented and overlapping programs (Publication No. GAO- 12-677). Retrieved from:

          http://www.gao.gov/assets/600/592074.pdf

Journal article: 

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages. 

Example: 

Ullah, S., Ajab, S., Rao, R., Raghunathan, G., & DaCosta, P. (2015). Diaphragm disease of the small intestine: An interesting case

          report. International Journal of Surgical Pathology, 23(4), 322-324. 

Article with an DOI: 

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages.

          http://dx.doi.org/xx.xxx/yyyyy 

Example: 

Vickers, A. J. (2013). Writing up clinical research: a statistician's view. Journal of General Internal Medicine, 28(9), 1127-1129.

          doi:10.1007/s11606-013-2413-5

Newspaper article: 

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper. Retrieved from: http://URL

Example:

Searcey D., Porter, E., & Gebeloff, R. (2015, February 22). Health care opens stable career path, taken mainly by women. The

          New York Times. Retrieved from: http://www.nytimes.com/2015/02/23/business/economy/health-care-opens-middle-class-

          path-taken-mainly-by-women.html

An entry from an online dictionary/encyclopedia:

Entry name. (n.d.). In Dictionary/Encyclopedia Name online. Retrieved from: http://URL

Example:

Healthcare. (n.d.). In Oxford British and World English Dictionary online. Retrieved from:

          http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/us/definition/english/healthcare

 

Guidelines for additional types of sources are available on the Purdue OWL website