Selected Structural Engineering Materials - Not an exhaustive listing
-
What Is Structural Engineering?LiveScience, By Jim Lucas September 12, 2014
-
-
-
Building Materials, Materials Design and Applications
by
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9783035735307Publication Date: 2019-10-09 -
-
Monitoring Building Structures
by
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780203168868Publication Date: 1991-12-12 -
Science of Structural Engineering
by
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781860941894Publication Date: 1999-10-01 -
-
RIP (Research in Progress)The Transportation Research Board's Research in Progress (RIP) Database contains information on more than 12,000 current or recently completed transportation research projects. RIP records primarily are projects funded by the U.S. Department of Transportation and State Departments of Transportation. University transportation research also is included in the database.
-
Structural EngineeringNIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology, U.S. Dept. of Commerce)
-
StructuraeStructurae calls itself "The Largest Database for Civil and Structural Engineers Discover the diversity of civil, structural and bridge engineering – more than 63.000 structures with over 13.000 participating companies and their products as well as 9.000 engineers and architects, all of that illustrated with 180.000 images."
-
How Bridges WorkHowStuffWorks, by Robert Lamb & Michael Morrissey
-
Explaining Why The Millennium Bridge WobbledCornell University. "Explaining Why The Millennium Bridge Wobbled." ScienceDaily. ScienceDaily, 3 November 2005.
. -
London Millenium Bridge OpeningYoutube video explaining the "sway" of the Millennium Bridge
-
Theoretical mechanics: Crowd Synchrony on the Millennium BridgeArticle from Nature, 11/3/2005, Vol. 438 Issue 7064, p43-44
-
Q&A: ENGINEERING PROFESSOR DISCUSSES CATASTROPHIC SURFSIDE COLLAPSEUniversity of Virginia, UVA Today, Karen Walker, 7/9/2021. Interview with University of Virginia engineering professor John R. Scully.
-
‘We need to be patient’ — UW’s Dawn Lehman on the collapse of the Champlain Towers SouthUniversity of Washington, UW News, Sarah McQuate, 7/9/2021. Interview with University of Washington professor of civil and environmental engineering Dawn Lehman.
-
Mehrdad Sasani in News@Northeastern: Clues Point to Possible Causes of the Surfside Tower CollapseGlobal Resilience Institute at Northeastern University, by Iann Walters, news@Northeastern
-
Champlain Towers South Condominium Structural Field Survey Report9 page letter/report dated 10/8/2018
-
Champlain Towers South CollapseDisaster & Failure Studies, NIST.gov
-
NIST will investigate Champlain Towers South collapseASCE Civil Engineering Source, by Catherine A. Cardno, 7/1/2021
-
What is spalling concrete?The Constructor
-
Pedestrian Bridge Collapse Over SW 8th Street Miami, Florida March 15, 2018
National Transportation Safety Board Accident Report NTSB/HAR-19/02 PB2019-101363 -
Pedestrian Bridge Collapse Over SW 8th Street, Miami, Florida March 15, 2018 Illustrated Digest
NTSB (National Transportation Safety Board)
-
Project Summary: Highway Investigation - 126 Docket Items - HWY18MH009
NTSB information regarding the Florida International Pedestrian bridge collapse -NTSB Number: HWY18MH009.
-
Design errors draw blame in collapse of FIU pedestrian bridge that killed 6USA Today, John Bacon, 10/22/2019
-
FIU Pedestrian Bridge Collapse, FloridaYoutube video, Institution of Structural Engineers
-
Investigation of March 15, 2018 Pedestrian Bridge Collapse at Florida International University, Miami, FLU.S Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Directorate of Construction, July 2019
-
Pedestrian Bridge Collapse Over SW 8th Street HWY18MH009Youtube video, NTSBgov
-
Engineer of collapsed Miami bridge removed from Texas bridge project, faces review in anotherEquipment World's Better Roads, Don McLoud, January 22, 2020
-
Bridge Resonance: Story of the Tacoma Narrows Bridge 1938-1940)Link to a YouTube video which includes black & white, and color footage
-
Bridge Resonance: Story of the Tacoma Narrows Bridge 1938-1940)Link to a YouTube video which includes black & white, and color footage
-
First Tacoma Narrows Bridge: A Brief History of Galloping GertieAlbert F. Gunns, The Pacific Northwest Quarterly , Vol. 72, No. 4 (Oct., 1981), pp. 162-169
-
Resonance, Tacoma Narrows bridge failure, and undergraduate physics textbooksA link to an article by Yusuf Billah and Bob Scanlan that was published in the (Am. J. Phys. 59 (2), February 1991)
-
Resonance - The Tacoma Narrows Bridge Collapse VideoAn Encyclopedia Britannica resource
-
Rock-and-Roll Bridge (Tacoma Narrows)A Jan. 30, 1999 Science News online article by Ivars Peterson
-
Tacoma Narrows BridgeAn Encyclopedia Britannica resource
-
Tacoma Narrows Bridge - Lessons From the Failure of a Great MachineA Washington State Dept. of Transportation resource
-
Twin Views of the Tacoma Narrows Bridge Collapse Teacher's GuideA guide published and distributed by the American Association of Physics Teachers
-
Bridge That's Blowing in the Wind (Volga)An article about the Volga Bridge from the Daily Mail, 25th May 2010
-
Swaying Bridge - Volga River BridgeRussian footage of the Volga River bridge
-
Volga BridgeRussian footage of the Volga Bridge, reminiscent of the Tacoma Narrows Galloping Gertie footage.
-
THE BIG DIG (CENTRAL ARTERY/HARBOR TUNNEL PROJECTDouglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons research guide: CIVE 3800-1: Engineering Boston. Note that while some of the resources referenced in this guide may be also available in SBU collections, some resources will be unavailable.
-
Ceiling Collapse in the Interstate 90 Connector Tunnel Boston, Massachusetts July 10, 2006NTSB (National Transportation Safety Board) accident report NTSB/HAR-07/02 PB2007-916203
-
Tunnel of TerrorNASA System Failure Case Studies, vol.2, issue 5
-
2005 Upper Taum Sauk Dam Failure: A Case HistoryEnvironmental & Engineering Geoscience, Vol. XVI, No. 3, August 2010, pp. 257–289, Geological Society of America, J. DAVID ROGERS, CONOR M. WATKINS, JAE-WON CHUNG
-
Case Study: Taum Sauk Dam (Missouri, 2005)DamFailures.org
-
Causes of the Taum Sauk Reservoir BreachSierra Club, Missouri Chapter, From FERC’s Independent Panel Report, by Becky Denney
-
Evaluation of the Taum Sauk Upper Reservoir FailureGehring, Quentin and Luna, Ronaldo, "Evaluation of the Taum Sauk Upper Reservoir Failure" (2008). International Conference on Case Histories in Geotechnical Engineering. 21. https://scholarsmine.mst.edu/icchge/6icchge/session02/21
-
Overview and History of the Taum Sauk Pumped Storage Project Reynolds County, MissouriJ. David Rogers, Conor Watkins, and David J. Hoffman, Missouri University of Science and Technology – Rolla, MO
-
Report of Findings on the Overtopping and Embankment Breach of the Upper Dam - Taum Sauk Pumped Storage Project, FERC No. 2277FERC (Federal Energy Regulatory Commission), 4/28/2006
-
Taum Sauk - Technical Causes of BreachFederal Energy Regulatory Commission
-
Taum Sauk Dam Failure December 15th, 2005National Weather Service St. Louis Missouri
-
Ten-year anniversary of reservoir breach that flooded Johnson's Shut-ins state parkSt. Louis Public Radio NPR, by Marshall Griffin, 12/13/2013
-
Investigation of the Kansas City Hyatt Regency Walkways Collapse
Center for Building Technology, Natiional Engineering Laboratory ; Center for Materials Science, National Measurement Laboratory ; National Bureau of Standards
-
Two Rods Don’t Make It Right
NASA, System Failure Case Studies, vol. 2, no.4, May 2008
-
40 years after Kansas City hotel skywalk collapse: How the News-Leader got inside that nightSpringfield News-Leader, Gregory J. Holman, 7/17/2021
-
Engineering Process Failure—Hyatt Walkway CollapseMoncarz, P. D., & Taylor, R. K. (2000). Engineering Process Failure—Hyatt Walkway Collapse. Journal of Performance of Constructed Facilities, 14(2), 46. https://doi.org/10.1061/(ASCE)0887-3828(2000)14:2(46)
-
Hyatt Regency Skywalk Collapse RememberedStructure Magazine, Aug, 2016 By Randall P. Bernhardt
-
Hyatt Regency Walkway CollapseEngineeriing.com, Staff posted on October 24, 2006
-
“The Hyatt Horror”: Failure and Responsibility in American EngineeringPfatteicher, S. K. A. (2000). “The Hyatt Horror”: Failure and Responsibility in American Engineering. Journal of Performance of Constructed Facilities, 14(2), 62. https://doi.org/10.1061/(ASCE)0887-3828(2000)14:2(62)
-
Chronology and Context of the Hyatt Regency CollapseLuth, G. P. (2000). Chronology and Context of the Hyatt Regency Collapse. Journal of Performance of Constructed Facilities, 14(2), 51. https://doi.org/10.1061/(ASCE)0887-3828(2000)14:2(51)
-
Understanding the Tragic Hyatt Regency Walkway CollapseInteresting Engineering, by Christopher McFadden, 7/4/2017
-
Walt Bodine Collection: The Hyatt Regency Walkway CollapseKCUR, By CHARLIE UPCHURCH, APR 24, 2012
-
Hyatt Regency Walkway Collapse: Ethics Case Study No. 4American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) 7/2/2015 YouTube video
-
Mega Disasters - Hyatt Regency Skywalk CollapseDocumentary Central, YouTube
-
One of the Worst Man-Made Disasters in HistorySmithsonian Channel YouTube video
-
Man-Made MegatsunamiTsunami - killer waves: The world's worst disasters [Video file]. (2008). Retrieved January 23, 2020, from https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=97832&xtid=95243
-
Hoover DamThe Hoover dam [Video file]. (2003). Retrieved January 29, 2020, from https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=97832&xtid=141238
-
HOOVER DAM CONSTRUCTIONUniversity of Nevada, Las Vegas
-
Nevada and Arizona: Hoover DamNational Park Service
-
Local Engineers Predicted 2 Years Ago Millennium Tower ‘Upgrade' Would Make Tilting WorseNBCbayarea.com, by Jaxon Van Derbeken, 8/26/2021
-
Millennium TowerCRSI (Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute)
-
Millennium Tower retrofit given approval to restart following work stoppageSan Franscisco Business Times, by Laura Waxmann, 10/28/2021
-
Surfside catastrophe raises concerns about San Francisco's sinking Millennium TowerCNN.com, by Dan Simon, Julia Jones and Ray Sanchez, 7/5/2021
-
UPDATE: ‘It Was Deceptive;’ Former San Francisco Millennium Tower Tenant Glad He’s OutKPIX5 CBS SF Bay Area, 10/29/2021
-
Brooklyn BridgeAmerican Society of Civil Engineers
-
Structural Evaluation of the Historic John A. Roebling Suspension BridgeUniversity of Kentucky
-
JOHN A. ROEBLINGRoebling Museum
-
Long and short span railway bridges
by
Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 1869Digitized copy of Van Nostrand publishers 1869 edition
-
The Hampton Roads Bridge-Tunnel expansion project is making progressStephens, K. (2021, January 15). The Hampton Roads Bridge-tunnel expansion project is making progress. WAVY.com. https://www.wavy.com/news/local-news/hampton/the-hampton-roads-bridge-tunnel-expansion-project-is-making-progress/.
-
Va. Tunnel Plan Moves ForwardVa. Tunnel Plan Moves Forward. (2016). ENR: Engineering News-Record, 277(13), 6.
-
Hampton Roads Bridge-TunnelHampton roads bridge-tunnel. (n.d.). http://www.roadstothefuture.com/I64_VA_HRBT.html.
-
Foundation of the Hampton Roads TunnelProceedings of the 4th International Conference on Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering, London, August 1957
http://issmge.org/uploads/publications/1/41/1957_01_0093.pdf
-
Alexandre-Gustave EiffelNational Park Service
-
Gustave EiffelTOUREIFFEL.PARIS THE OFFICIAL WEBSITE OF THE EIFFEL TOWER
-
Gustave EiffelWonders of the World
