SBU Physics Major
Technical Services Librarian (Retired)
Coleen Rose
Contact:
Harriett K. Hutchens Library
1600 University Avenue
Bolivar, MO 65613
1600 University Avenue
Bolivar, MO 65613
417-328-1631
- What is Engineering? Types of EngineeringLiveScience, By Jim Lucas August 22, 2014
- ACM Digital LibraryThis database contains the full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery, as well as bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
- Academic Search PremierA general database that contains information across a broad spectrum of academic disciplines.
- ChiltonLibrary.comThis resource represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.
- Gale Academic OneFileProvides access to articles from 17,000+ scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. Contains extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
- Newspaper SourceThis digital archive provides cover-to-cover full-text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. It also contains selective full-text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are also available.
If you have an interest in 3d printing and design, this club is for you! Please note, you do not need to be a physics or engineering major to join this club, you just need to be a SBU student with an interest in 3D printing. The club meets monthly during the fall and spring semesters.
- Sigma Zeta - Gamma Kappa Chapter Southwest Baptist University"A national undergraduate honor society to encourage and foster scholarly activity and recognize academic scholarship in the natural and computer sciences and mathematics"-- Sigma Zeta
- ABET
ABET accredits college and university programs in the disciplines of applied and natural science, computing, engineering and engineering technology at the associate, bachelor’s and master’s degree levels.
Engineering Ethics by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780080458021Publication Date: 2006-04-11Contents: A personal engineering ethics threshold -- Options for action when an engineering ethics threshold is reached -- 1978: Ford Pinto recall -- 1981: Kansas City Hyatt Regency skywalk collapse -- 1986: Challenger space shuttle explosion -- 1989: Exxon Valdez oil spill -- 1989: San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge earthquake collapse -- 1994: Bjork-Shiley heart valve defect -- 1999: Y2K software conversion -- 2002: Bell Laboratories scientific fraud -- 2002: Ford Explorer rollover -- 2003: Columbia space shuttle explosion -- 2003: Guidant Ancure Endograft System -- 2003: Northeast blackout -- 2004: Indian Ocean tsunami -- Anonymous industrial engineering ethics cases.
Thinking Like an Engineer by Call Number: EbookISBN: 058524569XPublication Date: 2000-07-01Michael Davis, a leading figure in the study of professional ethics, offers here both a compelling exploration of engineering ethics and a philosophical analysis of engineering as a profession. After putting engineering in historical perspective, Davis turns to the Challenger space shuttledisaster to consider the complex relationship between engineering ideals and contemporary engineering practice. Here, Davis examines how social organization and technical requirements define how engineers should (and presumably do) think. Later chapters test his analysis of engineering judgement andautonomy empirically, engaging a range of social science research including a study of how engineers and managers work together in ten different companies.- What Every Engineer Should Know about Ethics by Call Number: EbookISBN: 0585157782Publication Date: 1999-01-01
- Java Applets for Engineering EducationA project funded by the National Science Foundation, William Devenport, Rakesh Kapania, Kamal Rojiani, Kusum Singh (PIs)
- Civil Engineering DatabaseAmerican Society of Civil Engineers
- eFluidsFrom the website: "eFluids is a specialty web portal designed to serve as a one-stop web information resource for anyone working in the areas of flow engineering, fluid mechanics research, education and directly related topics."
- eFundaeFunda stands for engineering Fundamentals. Its mission is to create an online destination for the engineering community.
- INIS (International Nuclear Information System)IAEA (International Atomic Energy Agency)
- INIS RepositoryInternational Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
- Intute - EngineeringProvides free access to resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at UK universities.
- MatMatchA commercial website
- MatWeb (Material Property Data)Commercial website that provides data sheets for 76,000+ metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites.
- NIST: National Institute of Standards and TechnologyNIST's mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.
- AME 20231 - Thermodynamics, Spring 2013Professor Joseph M. Powers, Ph.D., Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering University of Notre Dame. This course will consider the fundamental science of classical thermodynamics and its practical applications. Problem solving will be emphasized, including problem formulation, analytic, and computational solutions. Topics include the first law of thermodynamics, work, heat, properties of substances and state equations, the second law of thermodynamics and applications to engineering systems. Creative Commons License
Copyright 2012, by the Contributing Authors.
- Failed Inventions
This link opens in a new window
Films Media Group. (2003). Failed inventions. Films On Demand. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=97832&xtid=205825.
