Special Topic: Finding/Organizing papers
-
How to find, read and organize papersNature.com, Maya Gosztyla, 7/7/2022 doi: https://doi.org/10.1038/d41586-022-01878-7
Library Faculty Member
Please note, some links are reused in multiple places throughout this guide. This was done deliberately for discoverability, as the resources can pertain equally well to several different aspects of research ethics or article retraction.
- Falsification, Fabrication, Plagiarism"Known as the three “cardinal sins” of research conduct, falsification, fabrication, and plagiarism (FFP) are the primary concerns in avoiding research misconduct. " -- Author, Erich W. Schienke, Ph.D., Penn State College of Earth and Mineral Sciences
- Plagiarism (definition)Merriam-Webster.com
- Retraction (definition)Merriam-Webster.com.
- Correction Notices (definition)APA Style, American Psychological Association
- Retractions in academic publishingWikipedia article. This page was last edited on 3 June 2019, at 16:44 (UTC). Text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License
- Academic Misconduct in Higher Education: Beyond Student CheatingIncludes definitions of academic integrity and academic misconduct. Christensen Hughes J., Eaton S. (2022) Academic Misconduct in Higher Education: Beyond Student Cheating. In: Eaton S.E., Christensen Hughes J. (eds) Academic Integrity in Canada. Ethics and Integrity in Educational Contexts, vol 1. Springer, Cham. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-83255-1_4
- What Is Ethics in Research & Why Is It Important?National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, David B. Resnik, 12/1/2015
- What is Ghost, Guest, and Gift Authorship in Research?Enago.com, Jan 22, 2021
- Research Paper Mill (definition)Wikipedia article. This page was last edited on 13 April 2021, at 08:32 (UTC). Text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License
- What is Text Recycling?Text Recycling Research Project
- Retraction Watch
"Retraction Watch is a blog that reports on retractions of scientific papers. The blog was launched in August 2010 and is produced by science writers Ivan Oransky (Vice President and Global Editorial Director of MedPage Today and Adam Marcus (editor of Gastroenterology & Endoscopy News)." -- Wikipedia as viewed on 4/7/2017 - Retraction Watch DatabaseA database that helps researchers find out about retracted research, corrections and expressions of concern. Extremely useful in discovering problematic research.
- Retraction Watch Hijacked Journal Checker
Retraction Watch - Journal declarations of independence"By a journal declaration of independence, we mean the resignation of editors from a journal in order to launch a comparable journal with a friendlier publisher or less-restrictive access policies." -- Open Access Directory
- Mistakes happen in research papers. But corrections often don’tStatNews.com, by Ambar Castillo, 1/10/2023
- How to Stop the Unknowing Citation of Retracted PapersAnesthesiology, v. 137, issue 3 p. 280-282, Sept. 2022, Adam Marcus, Alison J. Abritis, Ivan Oransky
- Retractions are increasing, but not enoughdoi: https://doi.org/10.1038/d41586-022-02071-6
- Science Integrity DigestA blog by Elisabeth Bik, for Harbers-Bik LLC
- COPEAccording to the organization website, "COPE is committed to educate and support editors, publishers and those involved in publication ethics with the aim of moving the culture of publishing towards one where ethical practices becomes a normal part of the publishing culture."
- Office of Research Integrity (ORI)U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Research Integrity
- ORI Introduction to the Responsible Conduct of ResearchORI (Office of Research Integrity, U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services)
- White Paper on Publication EthicsCouncil of Science Editors, 2012-
- The Ethics Codes CollectionMaintained by the Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions (Illinois Institute of Technology)
- Academic Integrity at MIT: a Handbook for StudentsMassachusetts Institute of Technology
- Editor’s tips for passing journal checks"Blog entry originally posted on the official PLOS Blog and is cross-posted here..." -- PLOS ECR (Early Career Researcher) Community blog entry 4/21/2021.
- Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly work in Medical JournalsICMJE (International Committee of Medical Journal Editors)
Relevant Guides from Other Academic Libraries
Predatory Publishing (Arkansas State University)
Where to Publish Scholarly Journal Articles (Lebanon Valley College, Annville, PA)
Open Access Publishing (Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, CUNY)
Predatory Journals and Conferences (University of Southern Mississippi)
- Crossref/CrossmarkUse the metadata tab to search for retracted literature.
- Problematic Paper ScreenerGuillaume Cabanac
- Forensic Tools"These Forensic tools illustrate several principles in examining questioned text and images in biomedical science." -- ORI (Office of Research Integrity)
- HelioBLAST"HelioBLAST is a free service provided by HelioText. The HelioBLAST text similarity engine finds text records that are similar to the submitted query...Here, your query is searched against the citations (abstract and titles) in Medline/PubMed." -- https://helioblast.heliotext.com/
- ISSN PortalUse to check the ISSN code assigned to a journal
- Open retractionsRetractions reported to CrossRef or PubMed
- Retracted item notifications with Retraction Watch integration"Zotero can now help you avoid relying on retracted publications in your research by automatically checking your database and documents for works that have been retracted." Zotero provides this service in partnership with Retraction Watch.
- Retraction Watch DatabaseA database that helps researchers find out about retracted research, corrections and expressions of concern. Extremely useful in discovering problematic research.
- Retraction Watch Hijacked Journal CheckerRetraction Watch
- Identifying and managing problematic trials: a Research Integrity Assessment (RIA) tool for randomized controlled trials in evidence synthesisIdentifying and managing problematic trials: a Research Integrity Assessment (RIA) tool for randomized controlled trials in evidence synthesis Stephanie Weibel, Maria Popp, Stefanie Reis, Nicole Skoetz, Paul Garner, Emma Sydenham medRxiv 2022.05.31.22275756; doi:https://doi.org/10.1101/2022.05.31.22275756
- Research Integrity Toolbox"SOPs4RI (Standard Operating Procedures for Research Integrity) is a four-year (2019-2022), multi-partner project funded by the European Commission." -- website
- [SILA - scientific image analysis tool source codes and experimental results]danielmoreira/sciint Source codes and experimental results of SILA, an image scientific integrity verification system
- SILA: A System for Scientific Image Analysisdanielmoreira/sciint
- The SAGE Rejected Article TrackerHails et al., (2021). The SAGE Rejected Article Tracker. Journal of Open Source Software, 6(64), 3348, https://doi.org/10.21105/joss.03348
- SciDetectSpringer and Université Joseph Fourier.
Open source software to detect fake papers generated with SCIgen, Mathgen and Physgen. - scite: A smart citation index that displays the context of citations and classifies their intent using deep learningosh M. Nicholson, Milo Mordaunt, Patrice Lopez, Ashish Uppala, Domenic Rosati, Neves P. Rodrigues, Peter Grabitz, Sean C. Rife; scite: A smart citation index that displays the context of citations and classifies their intent using deep learning. Quantitative Science Studies 2021; 2 (3): 882–898. doi: https://doi.org/10.1162/qss_a_00146
- Scite Reference CheckA commercial subscription product. There is a limited free level at the time of this writing (2/2021) "Launched in November, Scite Reference Check scans new article PDFs for references to retracted papers, and posts both the citing and retracted papers on Twitter. It also flags when new studies cite older ones that have issued corrections, errata, withdrawals, or expressions of concern. An extension of scite.ai, a platform that monitors whether research findings are supported or contradicted by subsequent studies, Scite Reference Check keeps track of retracted papers by trawling through Crossref, PubMed, and the Retraction Watch Database."
- Seek & BlastnA " tool that could identify, extract and fact check nucleotide sequences in publications" -- https://www.elsevier.com/connect/editors-update/meet-the-woman-whos-tracking-down-systematic-research-fraud
- Seek & Blastn Standard Operating Procedure V.1Protocols.io
- STM Recommendations for handling image integrity issuesCenter for Open Sciene
- Unveiling Scientific Articles from Paper Mills with Provenance AnalysisJoão Phillipe Cardenuto, Daniel Moreira, Anderson Rocha et al. Unveiling Scientific Articles from Paper Mills with Provenance Analysis, 03 May 2023, PREPRINT (Version 1) available at Research Square [https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-2791141/v1]
- Whois Lookup"Whois is a widely used internet record listing that identifies who owns a domain and how to get in contact with them." -- DomainTools support
- PubMedA resource comprised of 24 million+ citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CHECKLISTS
- 12 QUESTIONS TO ASSESS A JOURNAL/PUBLISHERJ. Ward, Rutgers University, 2017
- MDAR: Towards minimum reporting standards for life scientistsContributors: David Thomas Mellor Karen Chambers Andy Collings Chris Graf Veronique Kiermer Malcolm Macleod Sowmya Swaminathan Deborah Sweet valda vinson Date created: 2019-04-30 04:07 PM 2019-04-30 21:07 UTC -- "Description: This project contains the MDAR framework (Materials Design Analysis Reporting), a checklist for authors to use, and an elaboration document with background and instructions. The project components contain data from author and editor surveys and coder data from the evaluated checklists. License: CC-By Attribution 4.0 International"
- Quality Output Checklist and Content Assessment (QuOCCA): a new tool for assessing research quality and reproducibilityHéroux ME, Butler AA, Cashin AG, et alQuality Output Checklist and Content Assessment (QuOCCA): a new tool for assessing research quality and reproducibilityBMJ Open 2022;12:e060976. doi: 10.1136/bmjopen-2022-060976
- Think Check Attend"Think. Check. Attend. provides guidelines that help researchers to differentiate between an authentic conference and the one they should avoid."--website
- Think Check Submit"Think. Check. Submit. helps researchers identify trusted journals and publishers for their research. Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications."--website
- [REAPPRAISED checklist] Check for publication integrity before misconductNature 577, 167-169 (2020) https://doi.org/10.1038/d41586-019-03959-6
- The Retraction Watch Mass Resignations ListA listing of scholarly journals with mass resignations of editorial staff